Abigail

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Explorer

Amis (1)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Abby! A little bit about me: during two years as a live in staff at a home of hospitality for homeless women and children, I was shown the healing power of community and togetherness. Living outside of my comfort zone stretched and changed me in ways I didn't know were possible, and I want to continue choosing a way of life where building meaningful relationships with others is at the core of all I do. I'm a college student at the Ohio State University studying sustainable agriculture. I am hoping for hands on experience with small scale community farming and sustainability projects. I love to be outdoors and appreciate hands on work!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Animaux
    Art et design
    Arts du spectacle
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Livres
    Musique
    Vidéographie
    Photographie

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I just returned from Workawaying in California for about 6 months where I had some interesting, growing experiences and overall really enjoyed many aspects of Workaway! I worked at multiple farms, first a local farm where I learned the process of growing and harvesting mushrooms as well as tomatoes, and prepared produce for the farmers market in town. I also worked in communications at an olive farm in Northern California, where I helped upkeep the farm stand, learned the process of making olive oil, and did agricultural education outreach for the local school kids.

    Before doing Workaway, I worked for a nonprofit in Phoenix, Arizona as a live-in staff at a home for women and children experiencing homelessness. As the programs coordinator of the home, I planned weekly events and outings for the residents in order to strengthen our community and networked with outside professionals and organizations to provide classes and resources to the women in the home. I also built and maintained friendly relationships with volunteers and donors. I am well-versed in trauma-informed care, creating safe spaces for people from various backgrounds, and maintaining a working home.

    I worked part-time as a florist during my time in Phoenix, both doing wedding floristry and working the storefront location. As a floral assistant I learned how to care for flowers, cater to specific customer needs, and manage the logistical side of the storefront (aesthetics, restocking, keeping inventory).

    Prior to living in Phoenix, I was a summer camp counselor for two consecutive summers in Ohio, where I gained extensive experience working with children and facilitating large group activities (sports, art projects, talent shows, etc). Here I became an efficient cleaner, cooker, and landscaper as well. This was my gateway to community living and I absolutely loved it!

    In college I worked as a marketing intern for a technology consortium in Columbus, Ohio, where I filled the roles of photographer, videographer, and social media manager, as well as wrote blog posts for the company website. I love to write and would be happy to help out with any marketing needs! I am proficient in photography as well as editing software (Photoshop, InDesign, Lightroom).

    At my previous job, we used the phrase "duty of the moment" to explain what most of our days consisted of. I am used to wearing many hats, but above all, prioritize my relationships with those in my care. I am a team player, experienced in resolving interpersonal conflict, and quick to learn new skills relevant to my job. I also love to use my creative hobbies like singing, playing instruments, and crafting to bring others together.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    22

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Amis

Photos

Feedback