DaisyJane

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Amis (2)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

  • Description

    Hello, my name is DaisyJane Darling! I grew up near Seattle, Washington USA, and I just graduated from the University of Washington with a Bachelor's Degree in international studies. I have traveled around quite a bit, and began my workaway journey during my gap year before starting university. During that year, I lived in Switzerland for six months learning French, volunteered doing research on semi-wild Asian elephants in Thailand, taught English on a workaway in Indonesia, and kerplunked my way around a bit more of southeast Asia and Europe. I have been home for the last few years to finish my degree, but now that I’m done my schedule has room for a little more adventuring! I love to learn, so part of me is sad to be leaving school, but I am excited for all there is for me to discover out in the world! And for all the lovely people I’m sure I will meet along the way :)

    A little more info about who I am and what I am like:

    I was lucky enough to grow up on a little farm in a small Washington town. I spent most of my childhood playing with our horses, chickens, dogs, cats, and various other animal friends, galavanting through the woods, taking walks to the beaver pond, eating wild berries and fruit, and making fairy houses out of flowers with my friends. My dad loves music (he even named me after a song, Daisy Jane by America), so there was always music floating through the house, and he was constantly playing his guitar. My mom is still my best friend, and she passed on to me a deep respect and love for nature. Both she and my stepmom are talented massage therapists, so I also garnered an interest for alternative/natural healing from them both. I am currently trying to learn more about Reiki, shamanism, dreamwork, breathwork, and anything in that realm.

    I’ve always been artistically inclined, and I love to make jewelry, paint, make greeting cards, and do calligraphy. I loveee renaissance fairs - I aspire to work at one some day - and dressing up in fun costumes is one of my favorite things to do. (My collection currently includes a pirate, a gypsy, Indiana Jones, a flapper girl, Einstein, a disco king, Baphomet, a lion, a ringmaster, and more). Most are pulled together from thrift store finds, but I am slowly trying to teach myself how to sew so I can make my own!

    I am an avid reader, and I do heartily enjoy a good movie or show, but I feel better when I spend less time in front of the tv. I love board and card games (bananagrams, five crowns, and clue are my favorites), and my friends and I like to put on murder mystery parties - complete with costumes, of course! I am a huge Harry Potter fan, adore Pride and Prejudice, the Da Vinci code, almost any mystery or fantasy book, and both fiction and non-fiction historical books. I love to bake, I have been vegetarian since I was 10 ( now my diet is leaning towards vegan), and when I’m feeling inspired I have the best time making up new meals to cook.

    I have always been interested in travel and international affairs and politics, which contributed to my pursuit of a degree in international studies (after first going down many other paths). My mother’s family is from Yemen, and a large portion of my Yemeni family lives near where I grew up, so my childhood was influenced by Yemeni culture, food, and community. As a result I have always been drawn towards the Middle East, and that area is the focus of my degree.

    I also love yoga, dancing, and any physical activity. I did gymnastics and diving (off a board) as a kid, and I hope to begin taking aerial silk classes soon!

    Of course this is only a little bit about who I am, so if there is anything else you want to know, please ask! I’m happy to answer any questions, I’m a pretty open book :)

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Art et design
    Arts du spectacle
    Livres

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Travail associatif
    Enseignement

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I enjoy photography and art, I love to paint and sing (although I'm often off key!) and do creative projects. I have a love of language, am a native English speaker and conversational in French, and I can read and write in Arabic (although I probably won't understand what it means). I have a very large family with 16 adorable younger cousins, and I am experienced with childcare, both from watching them and from babysitting and nannying jobs. I am a tidy, organized person, with about 5 years experience in restaurant waitressing and hostessing. I have lots of service skills and I love working with people. I enjoy problem solving and believe that clear communication is the most important thing in any situation. I also love to work in gardens or around a farm and get my hands dirty. I am a hard worker, put my all into whatever I do, and I love learning new skills. I can pick up just about anything I put my mind to, so whatever you need done (that doesn't require official technical training) I'm a quick learner and I bet you I can do it!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    23

  • Nationalité

    United States of America

  • Autres infos...

    I am a hard working, motivated, and enthusiastic person! I love to laugh, make art, stargaze, hug trees, and make friends. I am very optimistic and open minded to trying new things and experiences, I'm always looking for new ways to express my creativity. I am an easy going, go with the flow type person and tend to get along with everybody. Thank you for taking a look at my profile, I hope our paths will cross!

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      No

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      I am vegetarian and dairy intolerant.

Amis

Photos

Feedback