Shaun & Anna

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Notre prochaine destination :

    Spain
    Voir tout
  • Description

    We are a British couple who relocated to Spain in 2020 (as Brexit refugees!) and are proud to have gained our Spanish residency. We hope that Workaway will enable us to travel to different areas of our new home country and get to experience life here in a more authentic way than if we just visited as tourists.

    We are looking for hosts who are working on permaculture projects, who grow fruit and vegetables or grow and maintain trees. As vegetarians, we truly appreciate how wonderful it is to eat food that you have grown and harvested on your own land. One of the things we miss most about our old life in the U.K. is our 350m2 Allotment Garden!

    Our plan is to live a more sustainable / environmentally aware lifestyle in the future, and we would love to have an off-grid property, so gaining experience on existing eco, permaculture, land management and building projects would really help us.

    We would be especially interested in:
    • Small eco building projects using natural materials. Earth bags / Straw bales / timber from locally harvested trees.

    • Water management, irrigation, water storage solutions.

    • Drainage, waste water / sewage.

    • Building a natural swimming pool.

    • Electrical installations, solar, wind and hydro energy generation.

    Our dream is to eventually buy a property with land here and run a rural tourism business, but we think it’s important to learn first - about our new country (especially as the different regions of Spain are so diverse), about permaculture and about off-grid living - before settling down somewhere long term.

    We are travelling as a couple and bring different skills and vitality.

    Shaun is a very enthusiastic and energetic person and has had a successful career working as a Rigger / Technical Engineer in the entertainment industry over the past 25 years. He is highly motivated and likes to be organised.

    Anna’s best attributes are kindness and curiosity! These qualities make her friendly, good with people and always excited to learn something new…whether it be vocabulary in a foreign language, the best way to cook an unusual vegetable, or how to connect together the different parts of a piece of equipment and get it working.

    As a couple, we think we are a great team and we can bring a variety of skills to your project. We look forward to meeting you soon! 

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d’hiver
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Architecture

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Projets artistiques
    Éco-projets
    Aider dans une ferme

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Pratique des langues
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / Internet
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Shaun is a good all-round worker that enjoys a nice project to “get his teeth into”. His theatre industry work has given him lots of installation experience, both mechanical and electrical, using metals, timber, ropes, wire, fabrics etc… and he can work safely and competently with tools and equipment.

    Outside of work he has built a number of wooden sheds to his own design, installed fencing, decking and carried out many other DIY jobs around the house.

    Anna has had two careers (initially as a technician in the theatre, using her creativity and problem-solving skills as part of the backstage team, then discovering a passion for customer service and moving into jobs in transport, travel and tourism) which have helped her to be adaptable, determined and always positive. She has done tasks as varied as rewiring lights, loading heavy scenery onto a truck, taking clients skiing for the day and writing a blog to keep frontline staff in a large and diverse company connected to the plans and actions of the management team. Outside work, she has enjoyed practical projects like learning to chisel wood in order to fit door locks, tiling the bathroom and making sewing alterations to clothes.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Français: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    We have both learnt some German and French, and although Anna is the linguist of the pair, Shaun is also keen to practise. We would both like to improve our grasp of these languages. Anna has a good knowledge of Spanish and is keen to perfect her level. She would also like to help others who are learning the language. Shaun has a beginner level of Spanish. Since moving to Spain he has been concentrating on widening his vocabulary, but would appreciate some help with his Spanish. British English is our native language and we would be happy to help people learning English.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    43 & 42

  • Autres infos...

    We are outgoing and like to meet all kinds of people!

    Anna's hobbies have always included dance lessons (ballet, jazz, Zumba), going to the theatre, reading novels and playing board games. In recent years, skiing has become a new favourite pastime.

    Shaun loves to be outdoors, spending a lot of his leisure time camping, walking, kayaking, canoeing, paddleboarding, downhill skiing and ski touring. He also enjoys spending time working in the garden.

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      We are both vegetarian.

Feedback

Amis

Feedback