Nina & Giorgio

  • Royaume-Uni & Italie
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    en voyage

    Notre prochaine destination :

    Portugal - du Jun 2021 au Jun 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    I (Nina) left my job in London and moved to Portugal in 2020 to discover a new way of living. Giorgio is still coming and going between Portugal and London as his music studio is there, but we are looking to buy a piece of land in Portugal to start a self-sustainable music project and combine our two loves - music and permaculture!

    I (Nina) have been working with the families of children with Autism for many years in London and am really dedicated to supporting people through community. I have always been interested in sustainability and the impact of climate change on communities all over the world and wrote my Masters thesis on this which totally inspired me that reverting back to older knowledge systems in tune with nature was the key! Since then I have felt living in a busy city was never going to bring about real change for me (or the planet) and that I had to change direction.

    Giorgio is a music producer and sound engineer and wants to move his studio here to rural portugal so that the nature, peace, and the space can inspire creativity and enable more time for his own projects.

    We would like to integrate my work with children with Autism at some stage into the project that we want to set up in Portugal - giving families a place they can visit to reconnect to nature, feel supported, appreciated and understood, and to have fun together with music!!

    We are both motivated by trying to create equal opportunities for all, striving for food sovereignty and independence, and trying to create a new way of life so we can give back to others in whatever ways we can. Learning new skills, meeting new people from all walks of life, the beauty of nature, yoga and meditating, and a good party is what make us happy! :)

    We are both looking to spend time in different parts of Portugal to get a feel for the ecology of the land and the communities living there, and also to learn from the experiences of people who have already taken the jump and started a project. Please feel free to ask us anything about ourselves :)

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / bien-être
    Cyclisme
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Jardinage
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Architecture
    Art et design
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Écriture
    Musique
    Photographie
    Cuisine et alimentation

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Accueil / tourisme

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Travail associatif
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Pratique des langues
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    We have worked on several farms before in Portugal, Sri Lanka, and Borneo through WWOOF.

    We have gained lots of different experience ranging from olive tree picking, pruning and pressing, goat and sheep care, seeding, preparing raised veggie beds (including composting, mulching, planting, watering), planting fruit trees, pressing coconuts for organic oil production, and other general garden maintenance tasks. I (Nina) have also assisted on some natural building projects helping with an Earth Ship and with building a simple cob circular house and have attended short workshops for eco construction. We have both volunteered helping on a building site laying floors, plastering and working with concrete/brick work.

    In April 2021 I (Nina) completed a 2 week Permaculture Design Course in Portugal which really just opened me up to everything I don't know about permaculture (!) and showed me I have so much experience still to gain before starting our own project, and that permaculture is life-long-learning!

    We both love to cook and Giorgio used to be a chef in Italy before working full-time with music . We are very social and love working in big teams but are also happy to work independently and can be self directed quite happily. We have lived in a community warehouse space in London together for 6 years so we are both very flexible and open so please feel free to approach us with any questions so we can make sure we are a good fit :)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    32 & 37

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      We are pescatarian

Feedback


Amis

Photos

Feedback