Josee

  • Canada
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Amis (1)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

    Les activités qui m'intéressent :

    I enjoyed being outside and most of my recreational activities take place in the outdoors. I enjoy hiking and white water canoeing in the summer, and skiing in the winter. I love playing cards too!

  • Description

    I am an active person who enjoys meeting and being around others. I enjoy learning new skills and working outdoors. I also have a passion for animals. I believe that "travel with a purpose" is the best way to get to know people and cultures, whether at home or abroad.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Camping
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d’hiver
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Bricolage / artisanat
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Travail associatif

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    S’occuper des animaux
    Aider dans une ferme
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Accueil / tourisme
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I owned and ran a home B&B for 25 years and have enjoyed meeting people from all over the world.

    I am very social, self-motivated and task oriented! I speak French (native tongue), English, and Spanish fluently, and can converse in Italian and Portuguese. I can also struggle through very basic German!

    As I mentioned, I have a passion for animals, and I volunteered at my local animal shelter for 8 years, working mainly with dogs. I have owned a dog pretty much all of my adult life, but I am currently "dogless".

    I have recently discovered farm life, helping a friend during 2 seeding seasons and a short stint during harvest. Tasks included refuelling vehicles, moving and setting up augers using tractors, driving grain trucks, general maintenance around the farm yard, cooking and bringing meals to workers in the field, gardening, running errands to get parts, and the list goes on!

    My first Workaway experience was on a fibre producing ranch where I really enjoyed working with the herding dog. My duties involved daily feeding and watering of all the animals, caring for the young sheep, lambs and puppies, as well as some general maintenance.

    I recently got back from travelling in Ecuador where I did another Workaway experience helping with the construction of a bamboo house. I had heard about a local animal rescue shelter run by a local woman, Fabiola. There was no accommodation available onsite but I dropped by a number of times to lend a hand with dogs and horses. I helped out with dog walking and bathing, food preparation, spraying horses with an anti-parasite formula, trimming manes and caring for a hoof injury. It was quite an eye-opening experience to see the dedication of Fabiola taking care of so many animals on her own.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I have studied a number of languages and it has made me a lot more aware of how one learns a new language! I think that being able to communicate makes it a lot more likely to connect with others. I also believe that languages are also windows into people's culture.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    55

  • Autres infos...

    I am probably older than the average "workawayer" but I come with work and life experience! LOL. I have lost someone dear to me to cancer a few years ago and it made me realize that life can be unpredictable and short, and now is the time to tick off items on that bucket list rather than just looking at it . I am fit and healthy and looking for new life adventures!

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      quinoa (grain)

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      no quinoa

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback