Francesco & Simona

  • Italie
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Email verified
Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    à la maison

  • Description

    We are Francesco and Simona, a couple of 27 year olds from Northern Italy.
    Francesco has a degree in Sport Science and has been working for about 5 years in a gym, teaching private and small group classes to sedentary adults; in addition, in the last year he has also been teaching Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. Simona has a degree in Foreign languages and literatures and has been working for about 4 years as an ‘English as a foreign language’ teacher to both kids and adults; in the last 2 years and a half she has been experimenting with storytelling as a way to make her lessons more engaging and creative.

    We both like what we do, but we also like working outdoors and doing things with our hands as we feel it balances nicely the intellectual and indoor nature of our jobs - so we work part time, mostly in the afternoon and evening, and spend a few mornings a week doing volunteering work for the local environmental association; at the end of March 2022 we started restoring their didactic garden, that used to host activities for the environmental education of kids of the nearby nursery- and pre-schools. The project was well-received, so at the beginning of February 2023 we started to expand it - building a lot more raised beds (using recycled lumber), pruning the many fruit trees and establishing a tree nursery (see photos). Through the same association we also volunteer roughly two Sundays per month for the upkeep of the local woods.

    In the summer of 2022 we spent 4 weeks Workawaying in the French Dordogne, and really liked the experience - so we repeated it in the summer of 2023, first spending 3 weeks in the Spanish Asturias at a rewilding project and then staying 2 weeks in that same place in the Dordogne - this time housesitting for our hosts while they were on holiday, managing their house, their 50 animals and their AirBnB business.
    Our goal for the next few years is to keep accruing experience in many areas DIY and self-sufficiency while we continue to hone our crafts and expand our businesses, to eventually get a place of our own and restore it.

    Among our hobbies, outside of what we have already mentioned, are reading and writing, hiking and exploring.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Activités en plein air
    Dev. durable
    Animaux de compagnie
    Arts du spectacle
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Végétarien ou végan

    montrer plus
  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aider dans une ferme
    Entretien général

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aider à la maison
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    We have some basic gardening experience thanks to our volunteering with the local environmental organization: we've been doing light forestry work to upkeep the local woods - restoring paths, cutting brambles, transplanting trees where others have fallen, etc - and some basic horticulture, doing things like sowing, weeding, watering, digging, raking, building raised beds; so, we have experience using tools like sickle, pickaxe, pitchfork and wheelbarrow, spade and shovel.

    Through the same association, in the last few months we also had the opportunity to get wood from wind-fallen chestnuts and black locusts that were bucked up to clear the trails, which Francesco processed into firewood for his brother’s woodstove - so we have some experience in this area too.

    In our 4-week Workaway stay in the Dordogne we did many different kinds of jobs: we took care of animals (dogs, cats, chickens, pigs, goats and sheep), painted and hung a gate (digging the hole via pickaxe and hammer drill), learned how to use a chainsaw and cut lots of firewood with it, prepared kindling for the winter, cooked some lunches and dinners, planted trees and shrubs, learned how to make concrete and many more things.

    In addition to this, we have the skills related to our jobs as teachers of physical training and of language learning; also, Francesco is a martial artist (he has been practicing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu since late 2017) and Simona is a dancer.

  • Âge

    27 & 27

  • Autres infos...

    Francesco has an Instagram page, which he uses to share some of his thoughts on adventure, physical training and manual skills:

    Simona has a Linktree where you can find her most recent storytelling work; here it is:

    She is also the co-creator and co-host of a storytelling podcast called 'A cornucopia of tales and tellers'. If you are interested, you can give it a listen here:

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Simona is a lacto-ovo vegetarian, Francesco doesn't eat dairy products