Aidez-nous à démarrer une nouvelle vie durable dans la Serra de Estrela, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 26 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This July Lars, our dog Athos and me (Ayla) are moving from the Netherlands to Portugal.
    After travelling Portugal for only a month, we found our dream home in de Gouveia area.
    There are two big houses that we have to renovate and 4.5 hectares of land. The land is surrounded by boulder rocks to climb and go on hikes. There is a stream, two big wells and a natural swimming pool.


    We are starting a food forest and permaculture garden. There will be sheep, chickens, and pigs to maintain the garden, feed the soil and to have good company.

    This is the very beginning of our big project. We have always wanted to live a self sustainable life, and now it's finally here! Our new home is completely off the grid, but still a short walk to the little villages Vila Franca Da Serra and Vila Ruiva. Also, just a 15-minute ride to Gouveia, a small big city :)

    We are both still young, love to have fun and meet new people. We want to share this beautiful place with workawayers from all over the world.

    Our dog Athos was born in 2021. He is very kind, smart, and gentle with everyone.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will experience a self sustainable project from the very beginning. How do you start and what do you need to become self-sufficient? Maybe this gives you inspiration and the tools to start your own project one day.
    Lars is an ecological gardener in the Netherlands and can teach you a lot about the land, soil, trees, and everything you need to know.
    Ayla is a yoga teacher and virtual assistant. She will provide yoga classes, free to join. Also, Reiki treatments and good conversations.

    We would love to learn some Portuguese!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Starting July 1st 2022:
    Our project can start now. Ayla will need help with clearing the land (it is overgrown now). We will start with pointing/filling the outside of the houses. Gardening and building will be the focus for the next few months.
    We will also make a small vegetable garden and clean out our natural pool / spring.

    In august it's time to make the roof waterproof! This is a big project. After this is done, we can live inside the waterproof house!

    Year 1 – 2023 :
    Renovation of off grid house and volunteer/guest room.
    Rough clean up area:
    Remove blackberries
    Dredging the stream
    Pruning trees.

    From year 2 – 2024:
    Renovating studios and camping
    Build shower/toilet cabin
    Herbs/flower meadows
    Lay out green fertilizers
    Creation of food forest 1 and 2 (trees)
    Building an eco swimming pool
    Construction of a raised terrace with pergola and bridge
    Build stables for chickens, pigs and sheep
    Construction of the driveway

    We will have big (vegetarian) meals together. So we will need help with cooking. We would like to have big BBQ's as well.

    (We will need to work a maximum of 4 hours a day, weekends are off. We are not strict at all, but like to have volunteers that like to work and make a change.)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Français: Débutant
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We want to learn more Portuguese! We are still beginners.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is more than enough space to stay with us with your own camper van or tent. (we can also provide 1 tent!)

    If you don't mind sleeping in a house that is not finished yet, we can also place beds inside the house. (you may also put your tent inside the one of the houses, this could be less hot in summer)

    It will be really down to earth and basic accommodation, since we still have to begin to renovate the houses. We have outside solar showers, and we'll make a compost toilet. The pool / spring will also be a nice refreshment.

    After the house renovations have finished:
    The main house has two floors. Upstairs, our family will live. Downstairs we have a big floor where we will make bedrooms for the volunteers and guests. There will be a kitchen and bathroom, and a big living area as well.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We will have a lot of fun. The area is beautiful and located next to the national park Serra Estrella.
    You can visit Torre, the highest mountain of Portugal. In the right season, you can ski here.
    There are multiple river beaches close by and the beach is an hour drive away.

    The land is surrounded by boulder rocks to climb and make hikes. There is a stream, two big wells and a natural swimming pool.

    We like to go on hikes with our dog, make fires at night, play games and of course enjoy a well deserved siesta!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have little connection at our place. But we have a hotspot extender that works okay... Ayla works online and goes to a café close by to work. (in 2024 we will have Wi-Fi)

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 994217828924