Help out with our backpackers and exchange cultures in Swakopmund, Namibia

Country

Namibie

Enregistré comme favori 92 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    03.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 9 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We started our Backpackers 12 years ago after seeing the need for reasonable priced accommodation that is still well located and comfortable. Namibia is a beautiful country and we have seen the growth in tourism. Although Namibia is a large country we have a small population which makes it easier to to immerse yourself at ground level into the local communities and get a bigger picture of the Namibian culture. Before Corona we were are team of 5, 3 day staff and 1 night manager and myself. At the moment we are 2 full-time day staff, 1 part- time and myself for night time. My team have been with me for 4 years now and have proven to be reliable and trustworthy.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Accueil / tourisme

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Swakopmund is a beautiful Coastal town which doesn't have a large population and has a very much village feel to it.
    It is easy to venture into the different communities making cultural exchange easy and accessible. Depending on the specific interest of the volunteer it would be possible to adapt the experience to suit them, meaning there are many different possibilities available from just learning the Namibian culture from one perspective or getting more involved in the local communities and helping out or just visiting local kinder gardens, orphanages etc. There are a few NGO initiatives and linking up or just getting information might be an option. Someone wanting to learn English would benefit because English is widely spoken and it is my home language. I on the other hand would like to learn German. I enjoy being with other people sharing experiences and learning new things. Having lived in Namibia for 30+ years, I believe I am experienced to show Namibia with all its facets.
    The volunteer will benefit by learning the topography, language, food and culture of Swakopmund/Namibia. The volunteer will gain experience in hospitality by working with Namibian locals and international travellers. I want the volunteer to feel part of our team. We can explore the city together, have coffee and share stories of our cultures and different upbringings. The volunteer will have the opportunity to explore Swakopmund and other places of interest on off days.
    I can teach the volunteer more about tourism, business, people and hospitality. In return i'm hoping to learn something about the volunteer's culture, language, cuisine and any other skills that they can offer.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with checking-in and Checking out of guests, answering the phone and handling general enquiries. Keeping the booking system up to date, just general office admin and small tasks around the Backpackers

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Afrikaans: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I would love to learn German

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Volunteers will sleep in a 4 bed dormitory which will be exclusively just for volunteers. Breakfast will be included.

    Breakfast is included consisting of cereals, toast, jam, cheese, fruit + yogurt. Tea + coffee is available throughout the day. A communal kitchen to prepare other meals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Different outdoor activities can be done in Swakopmund, like jogging, walking, surfing, obviously there are other activities as well specifically for tourists. There a good restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 985481145739