Help on a small eco-friendly farm, with many animals, near Copenhagen, Denmark

Country

Danemark

Enregistré comme favori 356 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    92.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Tina, I live with my family on our little eco, hobby farm :-) I have two sons and one daughter, Kevin 17, Piet 19 and Rebecca 24 (she isn't living here, but visits occasionally). My husbands name is Jimmy, Victoria, Piet's girlfriend and my parents live her as well, but in a separate houses.

    We are all quite handy and we've build the farm ourselves, we enjoy a beautiful environment and spend a lot of time maintaining. Also we're big fans of being self sufficient and environmentally aware. We do not use any pesticides or poison, and we take good care of our nature! We have a big garden with a lot of vegetables, berries and fruit. We are also raising our own pigs, cows and chickens for meat and eggs. It's important to know that the animals we eat have had a good life, and we do our best to make sure they're happy and healthy all the time! But taking care of many animals takes time, and it would be good to have a helping hand, and at the same time meet new people, learn new cultures and hopefully be able to say a word or two in a different language.

    We live in a small town called Tune, nearby (7-10km) is a city called Roskilde which has lots of shopping, a nice marina, the museum of Viking ships etc. The capital, Copenhagen is also sorta nearby (25-30 km) and it takes around 30 mins by train to get to the central station. Nearby is also Mosede and Greve which both have beaches and very nice marinas! "Kalkgraven" is another must see, it's basically a giant hole dug out to gain chalk from the ground. The hole has since then filled up, and when the sun is shining it is a perfect and very beautiful spot to go swimming. We will be very happy to take you to the different places and go sightseeing as much as we can, and help you figure out public transportation if you want to go by yourself or with friends! :-)

    If you're a medium to experienced rider, you can go to a nature/park/reserve called "Hedeland" and take a ride on our sweet Icelandic mare. There's around 40km trails, which is also possible to do on a mountain bike, or just go for a walk out there - it's quite beautiful! In wintertime you can ski a little here or just gaze at the beautiful winter wonderland. We also have a tiny Shetland pony which can pull a sweet little sulky/wagon - it's very funny!
    If you like mountain biking or walks, there's also Boserup forest near Roskilde, which is a very beautiful deciduous forest :-)

    Our animals:
    We have about 6 cows/bull, about 4 pigs, about 40 chickens, 2 geese, 2 dogs, 7 cats, 3 horses - so it is crucial that you like animals and are not afraid of these animals ;)

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Autres
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We'll show the daily life in Denmark when living on the countryside. We'll give an opportunity to live amongst happy animals and beautiful nature, and how to live in an eco friendly environment. We'll like to exchange experiences with animal care, cooking, culture, language etc. We're very nice, funny outgoing people who likes to work hard but also kick back on the couch and watch a good movie.
    Copenhagen is an amazing not to mention old and beautiful city. It holds an immense amount of history, museums, churches, castles, food experiences and so on!
    You should definitely go watch the little mermaid, Christiania, Nyhavn, Strøget (main shopping street), the blue planet, national museum, Experimentariet, the botanic garden, Tycho Brahe museum, planetarium and around ten different beautiful castles.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The work we do around our farm is defined by season, or if the ground is frozen or not.
    As mentioned earlier it's is VERY IMPORTANT that you are good with animals, it's also important that you are handy and are good with outdoors work :-)

    Example summertime/spring work:
    Gardening - weeding, pruning, lawn mowing
    Painting fences and buildings
    Maintaining fences
    Taking care of and harvesting crops from the vegetable garden and greenhouse
    Feeding the animals
    Maybe exercising animals if you're a horse person
    Cleaning animal areas
    Grooming animals
    Repairing stuff
    Organizing stuff
    Picking fruit and berries - preparing it (jam, juice etc)
    Having a cold beer in the sun ;-)

    Example winter/fall time work:
    Feeding animals
    Clearing snow
    Gardening - cutting down trees, pruning, raking leaves
    Preparing vegetable garden for next season
    Grooming animals
    Cleanings animal areas
    Crack firewood, bring it inside and light a fire
    Stacking firewood
    Exercising dogs and horses
    Cuddling the cats in front of the fire, drinking hot chocolate ;-)

    Other jobs year around:
    Light cleaning
    Washing and hanging clothes to dry, folding, ironing
    Cooking food - we would like to taste your favorite food
    Helping out on projects
    Maintaining cars and heavy machinery

    IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU CAN WORK ON YOUR OWN AND WIlL TAKE INITIATIVE.
    It is important that you speak well English/ danish/ swedish/ Norwegian so the communication will be fine. Please only apply if you really have an interest in our way of living, like animals and want to take part of the tasks above.... We have had a bad experience with some people who only came to have a place to stay, to get the working/holiday visa and work. And didnt have any conscience according to agreements. That has been an awfull experience and almost made us stop doing this... So please consider if before you aply :-)....

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Danish, English, Scandinavian laguages and some German

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own room on the first floor in the biggest house. It's approximately 15 square meters, with a couch, coffee table, tv, wifi, and of course a bed. We will give you bed linen and towels etc. Theres two bathrooms in the house, and one is right next to your room.
    You are welcome to wash your clothes here and we will supply you with warm coats in winter and working clothes :-)
    We will of course also provide food. Often you will make your own breakfast, and lunch (just look in the fridge) and we will take turns cooking dinner - we hope that you will show us your favorite dish! It is best if you are not too picky, and do not have any "extreme" eating habits (frutarian, vegan, several allergies etc) we make ordinary healthy food, based on both quality meat and vegetables ex lasagna with extra vegetables, salmon and spinach and of course our own meats from our animals and vegetables from the garden! :-) we eat mostly pig, cow, chicken and fish and all kinds of vegetables.
    If you have special requires, please let me know in your response, because i cannot guarantee that we can after come all wishes.

  • Autre chose...

    Autre chose...

    We will of course pick you up from the CPH airport and drive you back on your departure.
    We would like to get to know you a little via Skype before we make any arrangements :-)
    NON SMOKERS ONLY
    You will have to show a clean criminal record. We take a photo copy of your passport when you come, to have some data on you while you are here.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    20-25 hours per week

Hard workers in autumn
Geese and dog playing
Flowers from the garden in sommertime... Love flowers
Our greenhouse gives us many lovely vegetables.. This is chili
Lovely "Pjok" - his our kitten
Our small horse Olivia, having a ride
The guestroom/ workaway seen from another angle. There is a large TV in front of the touch..
Happy pigs chilling in the sun/mud
Our Dexter cows
Early winter
Jimmy, Piet and Kevin (Half of the family)
Two of our icelandic horses, Geysir and Gnyr

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















N° de référence hôte : 971458388282