Home renovation project in North Devon, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 56 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 10 jours

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 3 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family working hard to achieve our dream; living a fun and full life whilst we get there. There's lots of hanging out and playing at home, beach trips, walks in the woods and to the rivers. Our children are little (almost 4 and almost 6 years), so they need lots of attention. We have a good balance, but renovating our old farmhouse is our main focus.

    We're looking for someone to join us in enthusiastically getting involved with the build; to help with the less skilled tasks, unless you have experience in building - then we'd really appreciate your skills and knowledge - someone who either wants to learn traditional building techniques or already has the skills. Importantly we want someone who is interested in building, who is not afraid of hardwork and likes being knackered after a hard days work (5 hours is what workaway suggests!). Due to the covid19 our paid work has dried up, so hosting workawayers now takes a larger chunk of our tightened budget - no pressure, but we do need you to earn your supper ;) !

    Current projects:
    Building with natural stone and lime (hot lime to be specific).
    Repointing, demotlition, chipping off cement and many other building tasks.
    Help setting work areas up - scaffolding, clearing scrub/piles of stone/rubble etc.
    Moving rubble, soil, sand, etc.
    Digging, landscaping, garden maintenance and gardening.
    Poly tunnel and veg beds to care for.
    Building a chicken run.

    Future project:
    Drainage - digging french drains with a digger around the parameter.
    Help with installing a sewage system (fun times).
    Re-roofing the farmhouse and altering the design to make 3 large dormer windows (in keeping with the local area).
    Installing a 'warm roof system'.
    Installing wooden windows throughout, refurbishing the old doors and installing.
    Help installing a water system from the natural spring to the farmhouse.
    Replacing the cement windowsills with slate sills.
    Rendering the whole house.
    Smashing out the concrete floors, laying a llimecrete floor and underfloor heating pipes (final floor will be stamped earth).
    Entire new electric circuit.
    Probably going to have and air source heat pump for our heating as well as 2 masonry stoves

    A few years from now:
    Plastering the inside with clay plaster, lime plaster and venetian plaster.
    And all the final fixes!

    We are using all natural materials to build with. Caring for the environment and ultimately making a home that is a healthy place to live in is our aim. We are growing 90% of the vegetables that we eat, and we have chickens for eggs.

    We live a few miles from the North Devon coast. You can walk through the fields and woods, along the rivers, to the little town where you'll find a good selection of cafes, pubs, a few restaurants, fudge shops and some really well stocked little food shops. You'll also be at the sea! There is an excellent surf spot here - perfect in the winter. About 30 minute drive away there are some more surf spots. We go regularly to swim and play, and whenever the surf is good. This is an isolated place - so you'll need to be comfortable with that.. if you like the countryside, you'll love it here. There are so many places to walk, cycle, swim and explore.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aider avec des éco-projets

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn how remote areas in England function! Explore the forests, fields, Moors, beaches and rivers that are on our doorstep. There is so much wildlife; deers, owls, bats, mice, lizards, slow worms, birds of prey, song birds.. and many many more. We live in a dark sky reserve - the stars look phenomenal here. Go surfing, kayaking with Siobhan. Come to our local Climate Action Group. Learn to grow food, flowers, trees and how to harvest the food we grow. Learn how a renovation project works; the planning permission, sourcing environmentally friendly building materials, learn about renewable energy. Learn endless fascinating things from our children! Learn loads about building and renovating, landscaping gardens and setting up veg plots and fruit growing areas.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need you to help us with:

    Building a chicken run.
    Repointing, demotlition, chipping off cement and many other building tasks.
    Help setting work areas up - scaffolding, clearing scrub/piles of stone/rubble etc.
    Moving rubble, soil, sand, etc.
    Digging, landscaping, garden maintenance and gardening.
    Poly tunnel and veg beds to care for.

    Hours - we're flexible with when you do your 5 hours of work a day, but we do require a good 5 hours 5 days a week. If you wanted to explore for a few days, or go to something special in town - no worries, we would work something out that suits all of us.

    We can offer you:
    We provide you healthy, home cooked meals (we're vegetarian, but if you wanted to add some meat to your dish, we're totally fine with that).
    You would be welcome to join us to eat and chat. We respect your privacy always, and request some for ourselves too; typically we like to have our evenings to ourselves.
    You'd be welcome to go surfing with Ben whenever he goes.
    We live in a beautiful, isolated, peaceful spot surrounded by nature - the moors, forests, rivers, the sea.. there is so much to explore here.
    Pre-covid I travelled to Bristol most weekends to work. You'd be welcome to get a lift with me and find somewhere to stay for the weekend and catch a lift back home with me on Sunday afternoon (if this happens again!).

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A bedroom in our part-converted barn. There are 2 cosy, finished bedrooms and a living room below with a woodburner. The barn has a makeshift bathroom with a caravan porta potti in it. You have use of the fully fitted bathroom in our mobile home for showers anytime you need.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Lynton is our nearest town, 5 minute car drive, 30/40 minute (beautiful) walk. It has food shops, a tiny cinema, tourist type shops, lovely cafes, etc... It's a great place with lots happening for a small town.

    We'd either eat together or we can provide you with food. We'd welcome you to join us for meals, walks, etc, but we also value some private family time.. or even alone time too - very important! We'd respect your privacy and your need to have company too. If you enjoy cooking, we'd love you to cook whenever you fancy.

    During your time off you would be free to explore the beautiful local area and visit neighbouring towns and cities (Lynton, Valley of Rocks, Porlock, Dunster, Exeter, Bristol, Dartmoor and South Devon, Cornwall). Buses run from our nearest village (Barbrook) to connect with wider bus and train networks.

    Road cycling is very popular in the area, as is mountain/trail biking, and walking. Surfing is big along the coast of Lynmouth, Woolacombe, Croyde and few lesser known beaches that Ben can show you. There are opportunities to coasteer and horse ride too.

    Exmoor National Park and the National Trust run lots of local volunteering opportunities for anyone wanting to gain skills in conservation.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have pretty good reliable internet through Airband.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    You're welcome to park up. We have a couple of spots that are suitable. You'd have your own space, with a beautiful view. We have water and electric to the parking spots. There's a caravan 'porta potti' that you could use and a shower in our mobile home.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Well behaved dogs allowed :)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 969145887884