Learn about natural building and stone house renovation in the countryside not far from Caldas Da Rainha, Portugal

Country

Portugal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 150 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Holly, Angus and our 2 year old toddler Frida Sima. Plus 3x cats and 3x dogs!
    We are passionate about building with natural and/or recycled materials and our current focus is the renovation of a 100 year old stone ruin.
    We live on a large piece of land in the countryside not far from Caldas Da Rainha. The land consists of old oak woodland, meadow, vines and fruit trees. We bought our place in 2017 and have since been planting a lot of trees, managing the existing woodland, converting containers into a bedroom, kitchen and workshop, constructing a compost toilet and an outdoor shower. Now we are fully immersed in restoring the ruins on our land.

    We like to work hard, and also play hard! We enjoy evenings spent with good conversations, games and music. We are both artists and photographers, and we met each other while studying Fine Art in London. We've been organising a mini-festival here and love a good dance party!
    We share some of our photography and writing online, message us for the link as workaway don't allow us to put it on this page.

    We usually suggest a 2 week minimum stay, but find that it works better if volunteers stay for a month or more :-)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have spent lots of years travelling, doing volunteer projects ourselves, and love learning and exchanging skills with one another. We can share what we've learned about natural building and permaculture. Holly is a yoga / movement teacher and you'd be welcome to attend classes. Angus is a carpenter/maker and will happily show you some stuff if you're keen to learn.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    At the moment we're looking for help mainly with construction / renovation.This could include:
    Rebuilding old sandstone walls, shaping stone, and re-pointing using traditional lime mortar.
    Constructing shutter work for a concrete ring-beam on top of the walls of the house.
    General carpentry and wood processing as well as traditional timber framing and green woodwork in preparation for cutting and joining the timbers for the roof.

    It would be particularly great to work with someone with experience in any of these areas or construction in general.

    It would also be a bonus to have someone here who is confident and creative in child-care, though this isn't a necessity.

    We love animals and all our cats and dogs have been rescued here..

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a large tent that we can put up on a decking in a private spot, or you're welcome to bring your own accommodation (van, tent etc). If you have a van, you can park up on a safe space within our land.
    We love to eat! We eat a mostly vegetarian diet and are very happy to adapt for vegetarians. We'll share meal times and food on all working days. Unfortunately we currently can not afford to pay for volunteer food on non-working days.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Caldas Da Rainha is a lovely, creative town with a beautiful park, exhibitions, nice cafes and bars. We're surrounded by nature for exploring, the Serra de Aires e Candeeiros is great for hikes and we're 30 minutes from beautiful beaches. Sometimes we like to surf!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Large space for campervans

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 959365178573