1 / 5

Help with permaculture gardening and food forests while getting to know a life of a small village Wonju, South Korea

  • Enregistré comme favori 147 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 févr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    -- FEMALE WORKAWAYERS PREFERED --

    ** MAIN WORKS ***
    We have just started our permaculture field and there is plenty of work to be done before starting regular activities. Depending on the weather, progress, and your interest, you may experience some or all of the following tasks:
    1. Carpentary Work of tiny house which will be used for volunteer accommodation or an activity place.
    2. Maintaining our permaculture gardens - such as hugelkultur and keyhole garden - and natural farming field.
    3. Building a composting toilet, insect hotel, and garden hut.


    Hello👋 we are a group of four people - we are in our 30's and all female - interested in permaculture, ecology, veganism, and rural lifestyles. We are starting an eco-community in a small village in Gangwon Province and we are looking for female workawayers who would enjoy staying with us. We have traveled as workawayers ourselves and we loved to share our experiences with people who share similar interests when we were workawaying. Now we want to share our journey with workawayers as hosts in our little forest.

    At the beginning of 2023, we moved to this small village and started creating a permaculture field in an area that was previously used for traditional agriculture. One field is located in our village and is around 1000 square meters. The other field is in another village, a 15-minute drive away, and is 2000 square meters. We are designing the smaller field first and then the larger one. We have already dug a small orca-shaped pond using shovels, and today we built a keyhole garden that is also shaped like a big fish and 2 hugulkultur beds for growing strawberries.

    Our goal is to create an ecological community where people can grow their own food in food forests & permaculture gardens and fulfill their own needs with alternative and also natural technology. We are also learning how to create a good permaculture garden, how to grow crops & vegetables naturally, how to live well, and how to build a community village. You can learn with us, or we might have many things to learn from you.
    Please fill free to message to us :)

    * FOOD :
    We will prepare and share lunch and dinner together, and we will clean the dishes after meals.
    Our food is mostly vegan; meat is not allowed in the house.
    Workawayers also would be part of preparing food and cleaning the dishes.

    * WE ARE ALSO INTERESTED IN:
    - Vegan cooking, baking, and eating
    - Yoga
    - Knitting, drawing, and writing
    - Running a farmer's market in the village
    - Caring stray cats; there is friendly cat family in our village!

    * VERY WELCOME SKILLS:
    - Carpentry, house building, architecture
    - Alternative technology
    - Permaculture design and farming

    ** If you are allergic to cats, please take into consideration that we have three cats that roam around our property and often accompany us to the field **

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    - Language exchange
    - Korean vegan food recipe
    - Korean rural life with young people

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have a range of exciting and rewarding work opportunities for you to get involved in during your stay with us.

    ** Urgent works needed **
    - Permaculture gardens: We're looking for enthusiastic individuals to help us maintain our permaculture gardens using various techniques such as hugelkultur and forest gardening.
    - Building projects: We're currently considering of working on building a composting toilet, insect hotel, and garden hut. These projects are a great opportunity to develop new skills and learn about eco-friendly construction methods.

    ** Routine works **
    Maintaining permaculture gardens: Tasks include seeding, weeding, making composts, harvesting, and storing.

    ** Not routine work **
    - Eco-projects like building composting toilet for our farm.
    - Farmers market(fleamarket) support: We participate in farmers market as volunteers, and if you are interested you can join us to set up our booth and interact with customers.

    Most of your time will be spent working on our farm and gardens, but you'll also have the opportunity to get involved in other projects and learn new skills.

    * Days Off *
    Workawayers work around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and take 2 days off.
    We usually take day off every Thursday and Workawayers take days off every Thursday to Friday, but it may vary depending on weather.

    * Work time *
    In the summer we start early (around 7am)
    In the cold season we start around 8-9am.

    * FOOD *
    We all have lunch together around 12pm and have dinner between 6 and 7 in working days. Workawayers also help to cook or clean the dishes.
    And Workawayers need to bring own food for Breakfast and day-off meal. (Because we don't eat breakfast)

  • Langues parlées

    Korean: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Japonais: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Shared room in the host's house with other workawayers and volunteers. We provide you blanket, bed sheet and pillow.

    - Bathroom : shared with hosts and other workerwayers. Hot bath possible.
    - Kitchen : shared with hosts and other workerwayers.

    If you want and the it is available, you may also have the option to stay in a tiny wood cabin - still sharing kitchen and bathroom in the host's house.

    For those who prefer to camp, we have a front and back yard available for camping with your own tent.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Local sights
    - Historical temple sites: Our village is located in a historically significant area, and there are two ancient temple sites that are highly valued, even though the temples no longer exist. They are both about 1.5km away from the house.
    - Riverside trails: The nearby trails that run alongside a big river are famous among cyclists and offer breathtaking views. They are also great for running and are about a 15-minute bike ride away.
    - Silleuksa Temple: This famous tourist site is about 25km away from the house.

    Transport
    There is no bus that comes right to the village, but we can pick you up from either the Yeoju subway station or the Munmak bus station.
    Buses come neighbour town, so you can take the bus and meet us at the bus stop if you prefer.

    We go grocery shopping once a week, so you are welcome to join us if you'd like.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space for parking campervans

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 955813427443

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Help my friend and I practice English and share your culture in Gwanju-si, Korea
Be part of our multicultural family of five in the heart of Seoul, South Korea from January