1 / 5
new host  

Help out on our beautiful homestead in the Pyrenees in Molló, Spain

  • Enregistré comme favori 6 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hey!

    We're Jonny & Marta, and we invite you to the Catalunian Pyrenees for invigorating projects, accessible yoga, inspiring music and yummy food (mostly veggie w/ occasional fish).

    // The Setting

    In 2023, we bought an old (but modernised) masía, surrounded by beautiful nature on a five hectare property in a very special location: about 1.5 kilometers outside of the village, the property has a southwest orientation with sweeping views over the valley to a distant ridge where cows are grazing, the sound of their cowbells faintly ringing, mist drifting up through the mixed forest... okay, somebody stop me; I could keep going. Suffice to say, if you appreciate silence and nature, we're quite sure you will enjoy the setting.

    // A Bit About Us

    Marta is originally from Poland, but has been living abroad for almost 20 years, speaks four languages and effortlessly connects with people from all walks of life. She’s a yoga teacher & appreciates movement practices of all sorts and can be found hiking in the hills daily or rock climbing whenever possible. She's also an avid baker (especially sourdough bread), gardener, reader, and is generally the organisational force behind the operation.

    Jonny, originally from the United States, has also been living abroad for a while (about 10 years). He's also attempting a yoga of his own: balancing his full-time work in software development with his interests in permaculture and music. He plays a bit of guitar but piano is his main musical interest. He enjoys improvising as well as studying classical music to improve technique. He’s also into food, wine and cooking, with a special interest in breakfast.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are open-minded, lifelong learners with a wide range of interests… travel, food, language, music, technology, plants, among many others. Since buying our property last year, we’ve been learning new things pretty much every day so we welcome you to join us for a while on this journey.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The previous owners of this masía devoted most of their energy on the structure & interior, so the land around the house is largely a blank canvas for us to nurture & transform. We're very interested in permaculture concepts – in fact Marta is a proud recipient of a PDC & agroforesty certificate! – and we hope to increase the biodiversity of the land over time through habitat creation for birds & caterpillars & other small creatures. A good portion of the land is currently hosting several horses from a local farmer, but we have many projects and ideas for the gardens already underway.

    The projects we need help with are quite varied, including but not limited to:

    – tending to the garden
    – planting trees & shrubs
    – cement work on some patios & paths
    – organising an auxilliary buildilng
    – moving rocks around

    – clearing land
    – building platforms & raised beds
    
– helping construct a sauna (late 2024 probably)
    – general cleaning & maintenance
    – cooking / culinary exchange

    We’re both very hands on, so you won’t be on your own. We also love learning from others & welcome any skills or experiences that you’d like to share.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Polonais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Catalan: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You'd be staying in one of our comfortable guestrooms with a private bathroom. It has a 180cm bed that can be split into two single 90cm beds if needed. The room has ample storage for all your belongings, so you can unpack and feel at home.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    From Barcelona, you can catch a bus to Camprodon (2h) and then we can pick you up. If you’re coming from the French side, there’s a bus departing from Prats-de-Molló that can take you over the pass to Molló.

    We’re surrounded by mountains, so there are countless hiking & rock climbing opportunities. We’re also in a region that has an abundance of mountain streams, perfect for a refreshing plunge. There are some stables nearby where you can also go horseback riding up into the hills. Our proximity to France makes this region a crossroads of culinary traditions, so you can enjoy some yummy Spanish, Catalan and French dishes.

    We’re very fortunate to have a beautiful grand piano in the house, as well as a nice classical Spanish guitar, so if you’re a player, you’re welcome to enjoy the instruments.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have fiber connection (1 GB speed), so it's perfect for online work. There’s a large dining table available for use with lots of natural light.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours, 5 days a week (2 days off)

N° de référence hôte : 953915619286

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help out around the house and garden in the peaceful forests of Montseny, Spain
Aidez une famille en anglais et à la maison, près de Barcelone, Espagne