Beginnings of a homestead in the Kootenays, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 22 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have 16.3 acres, mostly forested, partial wetlands, with a creek on the property. There is a soothing, cool wildness to the land. I'm creating a space where people can connect with other humans, and nature. A space to learn, heal, and love. We will start as a small homestead, and ideally develop into a small community!

    I spent many years volunteering with various communities around the globe! After spending years searching for a place to set some roots, I've rooted here, in the Central/West Kootenays. This area is wild and powerful.

    I have experience with plant medicines, fasting, meditation and yoga. I'm happy to chat about these things and share knowledge.

    While there are plenty of tasks to be done, I like to practice bringing awareness to how things are being done. I'd like to empower others by provided tasks that teach skills they are interested in developing.

    There are caves/mines around the property-- it was a mining site many decades ago. Town is 10 minutes away, wifi/cafe 3minutes away. There is cell service. Telus has informed us wifi will be working mid-May.

    Slocan lake is minutes away. We have a canoe, too.
    Great hiking all around.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travelers will learn about the early stages of homesteading.
    Preparing spaces and developing systems for humans living in harmony with nature.

    Ideally, the tasks themselves will be learning experiences. They will be for me!

    I like to go to farmers markets, and this is a good opportunity to learn about the local culture.
    I'm happy to teach what I know about plant medicines and connecting with nature.

    I am connected with a couple communities in the area and there could be events that volunteers will be able to attend.

  • Aide

    Aide

    -Tending greenhouse, grow room plants
    -Working with wood, and metal.
    -Retrofitting a shed, building a log roof.
    -Retrofitting a cabin.
    -Making trails.
    -Making mushrooms.
    -Landscaping

    Building skills are an asset, but not needed.

    Volunteers will have to be in generally good physical condition, able to spend 20-25 hours per week(3-5 days, or 3 if requested), often engaging in moderately challenging physical duties.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Would love to continue learning spanish. Can teach english.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Living quarters:

    There are a couple areas available to camp, or park a van/RV. The property has glacier water and power, 1 minute from the main camping area. There is a wilderness creek shower(its cold), a camping solar shower, and an outhouse.

    There is a creek next to the main site, and a stream next to the secondary site. Both sites get decent sun and are immersed in the trees.

    There are regular sized tents and sleeping gear that can be provided to backpackers. We have extra blankets, sleeping bags, etc.

    Food stuff:

    I can provide cooked meals in the mornings and late afternoons pretty much all days. Volunteers are welcome to cook too, if they'd like.

    If there is a group of 3+, cooking meals and cleaning is considered a work activity. Food will be available so that work-awayer's can prepare meals. I can accommodate a variety of diets. Vegan, vegetarian, or carnivore diets.

    Volunteers will have access to the kitchen in the cabin, and provided with food. Volunteers are encouraged to cook and clean. We generally like to share meals together. We eat a simple diet. Curries, veggies/grains with sauces. Big garden fresh salads. Occasional eggs/tofu. We like yummy oats on working days. There will be ample staple foods(vegetables, greens, quinoa, rice, beans, oats, peanut butter, bananas, eggs, tea etc) provided for volunteers. Things like chocolate and coffee may be offered.

    Other stuff:

    We like to go to the hot springs each week, perhaps not in the middle of summer-- but otherwise, yes!

    We also like to go to the sauna once per week. There is a creek next to the sauna.

    There is generally a BBQ once per week. We like to invite the neighbors.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a bus that comes by that goes to nearby cities on Tuesday and Thursday.
    I make a trip into town each week and can usually bring people along.
    There are lakes, hikes, biking trails, hot springs, and more around to do.

    I like to keep things clean around the property and ask that people leave the space as good or better than when they arrived.

    No alcohol use on the property.
    No smoking, or substances(even natural substances) on the property.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    It's possible, yes.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Yes, there is a clearing where vans/RVs can park. Water fill-up in a minute away. If there is space for an RV/Van and it is self-sufficient(power and kitchen +), we ask for 5 hours less per week! Yes, it does get sun.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes, I love pets.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 937324982291