Join our international family and help with the kids in Falkenberg, Sweden

Country

Suède

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 47 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a 5 person international family. My husband is Swedish, I’m Australian raised, we have 3 kids - our 4.5 year old son, 2 year old daughter, a newborn son, and a cat. We have a full house of love at the moment and are hoping for a little support during this transitory time. We live in a small town close to the city centre. It’s a beach town so in the summer the population size triples. By train we are an hour south of Gothenburg, and about 2 hours north of Malmö and Copenhagen.

    As we have 3 kids, qualities a workawayer needs to enjoy the experience would be;
    - Patience and love to share with young kids
    - Rather self-reliant and independent to be able to go out and do things on their own
    - Takes initiative in the house with the ability to see what needs to be done and a willingness to jump in and help where needed
    - Flexible with schedule - it is likely we might need some help in the morning and again in the afternoon but the time is fluid so it won’t be set regimented hours

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We would love to host a traveller who could share their culture, language and food with us! My mother is Colombian, and I was born in Singapore but moved to Australia when I was 5. We have a little bit of a mixed cultural bag and we love learning and experiencing more, as well as sharing our mix. The kids speak fluent English and Swedish, and are enrolled in a Spanish Zumbini class.

    My husband is born and raised here in Falkenberg. He grew up on a farm and knows a lot about the area so he’s a good source of information about Swedish culture and this region.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for support in the house and with our two older children. My husband works 4 days a week and is gone long hours. Our son usually goes to förskola (daycare) 3 mornings a week, and during that time our daughter is home with me. We’re new to this and due to the circumstances our needs may vary somewhat but fundamentally we need help with whatever needs doing. Since we have a newborn, there are times when my hands are full and I ask that you are able to step in and assist with tasks such as food preparation, assisting the kids at the table during the meal, some light help with keeping the house tidy, helping guide the kids to pack away their toys when changing activities, laundry, vacuuming, supervision during play to keep the two oldest engaged while I am busy with aspects of taking care of a newborn. They really enjoy being outdoors, short walks in the forest and riding their bike in the neighbourhood - especially in the afternoon as there’s a few houses with similar aged kids and they all come out together.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    My husband and kids speak fluent Swedish, I am learning Swedish. In our household we speak English. I have a particular interest in Spanish exposure for my kids as my extended family live in Colombia and I would love to keep that door open for them.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We live in a 2 story house with a large yard and there is a forest and golf course behind us. All of the bedrooms are upstairs and you will have your own room with a king size bed. The upstairs bathroom is shared (mostly when the kids brush their teeth) but the shower will be your own as we shower in the downstairs bathroom. We are a little unique in that we don’t own a tv but of course we have wifi in the house. Breakfast and dinner are home cooked meals, and dinner is always a family dinner. Meals are a mix of classic Swedish dishes, Asian, Australian and some Colombian. We are meat eaters (eat paleo/primal type diet), but try to stay away from too many processed foods and don’t eat gluten/wheat products at home - but that’s a health choice, it’s not due to allergies. We would be happy for all to be included in meal time if you would like to join.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Next to our house is a nice forest walk, a short drive or bike ride to the local swimming pool with sauna and gym (3.5km), the beach (3.5km), town is close by (5km), and the train line is also close (5km) which you can take to explore other bigger cities. There’s also a bus stop about 200m from our house. In town there is a tourist information centre that can provide information on current cultural events etc.

    Local sights include a lot of small local farms around that have shops, cafes and restaurants. The weather here can be very varied - some winters are really cold and you can go skating on the lakes, while other winters are more mild and you can get a lot more rain. Summer can also be a mixed bag with dryer hotter seasons and wetter cooler ones. We often get ‘4 seasons in a day’ and so for that reason it’s best to prepare for all kinds of weather when planning to visit.

    Being a small costal town we don’t have the amenities of a big city such as metro etc. Having a car to drive would significantly increase your independence and ability to see more of the beautiful locations around us. There’s a nature reserve called Åkulla about 25 km from us with beautiful walk/hiking trails amongst other things. In the winter they also make a cross country skiing track.

    We are both chiropractors and live a more quiet and health focussed life. Low tox living and wholesome food is important to us. We don’t own a tv and practice limited screen time for the kids (mostly FaceTime calls with family). As such we also ask you to refrain from spending a lot of time on your smartphone in front of the kids, and we try to keep our meals phone free. We also follow gentle, attachment style parenting and enjoy Montessori philosophy. Please no smokers 🙂

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 935592291877