Venez-nous aider dans notre quinta dans le centre du Portugal près de Monsanto, le village portugais le plus portugais de tous !

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 62 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.05.2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Kevin and Wendy a couple in our 50s. Three years ago we left England to be Workaway volunteers. After several very successful volunteer experiences we bought a quinta in Portugal. We have transformed the stone ruin into a comfortable off-grid casa and we grow our own fruit and vegetables.

    We are totally off-grid. We have installed solar panels. Our water is pumped from one of our wells and heated by gas. We have one bathroom with a vermicomposting flushing toilet. During unsunny times electricity and water is limited.

    Now we are host volunteers ourselves and share our wonderful new lifestyle. We can accept a single person or couple. We are looking for help mainly gardening. You will stay in a clean and comfortable caravan or a guest room on our 2 hectare quinta with views over Monsanto (Portugal's most Portuguese village).

    We ask for 5 hours work per day Monday to Friday. We provide 3 meals per day.

    We are trying to learn Portuguese however are not very good at it. All help welcomed in this area!

    Here are some ways you can fill your down time:-
    Walking, cycling, swimming, historical villages, festas.
    We are happy for you to join us when we go out and about and can show you around the area.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are in a very cosmopolitan part of Portugal, with friends from many different nations. Many of our friends are also living off grid with a desire to grow their own food and live a simple fun life. We socialise with each other and share ideas on achieving this. This would be a wonderful opportunity for anyone wishing to see if this life is for them. We have helped and guided previous workawayers to buy land locally and put them in touch with a range of friends doing different sorts of Eco builds.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The fruit trees, olive trees and vines need to be pruned. Tiling in the bathroom and kitchen needs to be completed and worktops fitted. The construction of a composting toilet and a solar shower for the caravan area is needed. We have an outside veranda and kitchen which needs completing.

    The main tasks depend totally on the time of year but is generally care of the vegetable areas , weeding , watering , harvesting and nurturing the plants. We also welcome people with any good diy skills, flair and enthusiasm.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Caravan
    Guest room

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Villages to visit locally are Monsanta, Penha Garcia, Idanha-a-Velha.
    Towns to visit are Fundao, Castelo Branco, Idanha-a-Nova, Penamacor.
    There are festas throughout the year.
    Beautiful hiking paths.
    You can borrow bikes (but they are not that great!).
    There are 2 barragems for swimming.
    We can collect you from the train or bus from Castelo Branco or Penamacor. The train/bus from Lisbon to Castelo Branco costs approx 14 euros.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





N° de référence hôte : 913496667326