Come and help me with finishing my boat in South West UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 333 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.01.2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    I bought a boat. I bought a really big boat. Measuring 30m x 4.65m she's a bit of a palace on the water. She's a 106 year old dutch barge that's gone through many guises in her lifetime, starting her life with sails, being fitted with an engine in the 1940's and then being extended my 5 metres in the middle in the 1950's, and later converted to a houseboat in the 1980's.

    She's a steel, flat bottomed boat designed for the inland waterways and larger canals of the Netherlands and the rest of Europe. Looking at the ships logs it spent much of it's working life going backwards and forwards between the Netherlands and Germany.

    I am Adam. I did all of the work on the boat (with my ex- girlfriend). everything from, laying floors, making all the rooms, windows, changing the engine, installing the solar. there isn't anything in here I haven't done myself. It's been a labour of love and the boat took almost 2 years of our lives to rescue it from the scrap yard. But now she really is something to behold..

    Even though the boat is pretty much finished, with 3 bedrooms, 2500w solar power and and solar hot water. I would still like some help painting the inside and helping with cooking and looking after Alba my dog.. As long as your a fit and willing, and have a strong sense of care and quality then we'll get on and the time off on this canal is pretty lovely. Its a very comfortable space, with oak floors and kitchen worktops and dining table made from a tree that I felled 5 years ago. Plus there is a piano and guitars if you are musical. I'll feed you well on the days you work and will try to involve you in any gigs, parties, dinners I go to in Bristol (I also work in Bristol three days a week so can take you in to the city.

    In late August 2021 I achieved my dream and sailed it back from Europe to the west of England. 500Nm at sea in a flat bottomed boat! It was hairy at times but now she is safely nestled on the Sharpness Canal. It's really beautiful here, quiet and dark at night and with the wood burner going (there is central heating too) its really cosy.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am happy to share my knowledge on building, carpentry, metal work and off grid systems, and of course to improve your english if that is what you seek. In my spare time I like to rock climb, cycle, play chess, guitar (badly), and enjoy photography. I would also like to take up dance classes. Oh and I like cold water swimming if you are feeling brave!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Currently left on the list :

    (re-)Paint the inside

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You'll have your own double bedroom and the bathroom is fully functional with bath and shower, with all water heated through solar. The living space and back deck is yours to share of course.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The Sharpness Canal is beautiful and close to Bristol, where I go every week.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.3)

Communication: (4.8)







N° de référence hôte : 897363212427