Join our sailing around the world adventure, currently meandering about the Virgin Islands

Country

Saint-Martin

Enregistré comme favori 2142 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    900

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for one person to be in St Martin (SXM) on July 30th. If the calendar is all red we found someone to help!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Update: Whoopssss, A DELAY!*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We bought a Massive catamaran in Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands. There is more work than normal, but we're still island hopping in paradise. We're looking for peeps who can show up and help with boat operations during this busy time! You will have a private cabin.
    On Availability: I do not plan far in advance. It's simply impossible. However I can take people for long periods of time provided you're amazing. The only problem is that I can only take you with one to two weeks notice. So, It's always last minute, but can stay for a long time. If the calendar thingy is confusing, that's why.*️️️*️️️*️️️



    Sailing around the World. Heading from Portugal to Australia. We are currently in St Kitts and Nevis rebuilding this Catamaran and diving, a lot.

    Sailing, diving, fishing, spear fishing, beach fires, dolphins, uninhabited islands, fun locals, beer, music, general fun with an occasional dash of terror (sharks, storms, or dodgy coral reef navigation).

    Meet the captain: I worked for BP as an oil refinery operator in Texas City, Texas for 5 years. Think Homer Simpson’s job, but more lazy. Discovered a way to escape the rat race, bought my boat and have been sailing ever since. That was 4 years ago. Now I have over 20,000 miles of Caribbean island hopping experience, 6 Gulf of Mexico crossings, 2 trans-Atlantic crossings, trained over 50 people how to sail, and have become an expert Coconut Husker.

    FYI, it's boat life; we spend a lot of time together, like ALL of it, so I'm very picky about finding people whom I think will fit together. Also, replies to messages tend to be terribly slow. We do a lot, seriously, we're constantly in motion, so the new crew slice is pretty small on my pie of attention. Don't be upset if you don't hear back from me or get a short answer no.

    Whenever it comes to crew its basically a HELL YES! or it's a no.

    Once on board, you'll have basically two weeks of probation, then can typically stay several months or more. I tend not to take people who cant stay at least a month. Also, I can't take applicants far in advance. It's usually within one to two weeks. That's just boat life.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Autres
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Cliff diving, scuba diving, free diving, yoga, aerial silks, lyra, pole-dancing, spearfishing, marksmanship, archery, cloud navigation, celestial navigation, reef navigation by eyesight, modern navigation, fishing, cleaning the animals you harvest from goat to fish to snails and how to cook them, wake-boarding, paragliding, power-paragliding, spinnaker flying, how to drive small boats, big boats, sail boats, navigating traffic, engine repair diesel and gasoline, fiberglass repair, wood working, welding, electrical repair AC and DC systems, refrigeration, distillation, beer brewing, wine making, pasta making, bread making, making coconut oil, making memories, making friends, making a serious lifestyle change, and for some, making it a new way of life.

    This is probably going to be one of the most wonderful experiences of your life...

  • Aide

    Aide

    How this works: Crew, cleans, fishes, learns to sail (and sails), stands watches, helps with videography, and helps with general boat maintenance. I provide the boat, training, and I captain the boats.

    What I require of you: Must be able to swim. Reasonably fit. Can cook well, like good. Cool with eating fish. Lots of fish. Your relationship status with sea sickness can't be bad or worse. Passport, obviously. You play well with others. Pull your weight with ship duties. And you must follow orders. Also, this is work away, not a holiday. You are expected to learn and help. I am not paying for your vacation (I was burned by my last workawayers, but I'm giving it another chance).

    Most importantly, being a clean and tidy person is paramount in our small floating house. If you have unwashed dishes in your sink at this moment, you're probably not a good fit.

    What I don’t require of you: Sailing experience. In fact, I typically prefer if you have none.

    Nice skills to have: Cooking, cooking, cooking, filming, photography, cleaning (and general tidiness), and musicians are always wonderful to have.

    A note on diet: That is, if you have diet restrictions, I will not take you. It adds much complication to an already complicated and delicate system. Sorry folks. Anddd it should be mentioned we occasionally kill a goat, so that too (you needn't be part of that process, just the eating part).

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    About Windy: she is an ocean going 45 foot Beneteau Oceanis 440 sloop-rigged monohull. She has 3 rooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, living room, and large cockpit. However, you may not have your own cabin. Preference is given to crew with most time on Windy.

    About Miss E: she is 56 foot Fountaine Pajot Marquesas 56 sloop rigged catamaran. She has 8 cabins, 5 bathrooms, a kitchen, bar, living room with cocktail area, large cockpit, and plenty of deck space. You'll typically have your own cabin on Miss E. She's basically a fast moving hotel.

    More specifics: Fridges, freezers, stoves, ovens, air conditioners (though we hardly use them), generators, water makers, SCUBA dive compressor, 8 sets of SCUBA gear, spear guns, heavy fishing rods and reels, guitars, and a flying machine.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Money: I cover all expenses related to the boat and boat operations, including your place to sleep. Food is included. When ashore, you pay for your own meals/drinks, but you are welcome to stay on the boat and cook your own meals for free. Also, alcohol is not included in normal boat operations. This is typically divided among those who drink.

    Destination and time: I typically have a rough idea of where I want to get to, but that is subject to change at my discretion. You also have influence in this decision. Therefore, the time is always subject to change. Moreover, we may not ever reach where we intend to go. (I once stayed in Mexico for a year because it was awesome.) You are welcome to get on or off at any time. I do not take crew with booked tickets, not can I commit to any plans more than a few weeks in advance. You must always be prepared to get off at anytime. Due to the nature of crew and boats, if our relationship or your relationship with other crew goes south, you will be asked to leave immediately.

    Safety-ish specifics: SwitLik 6 person offshore life raft, 1 ship EPIRB satellite beacon, 4 personal EPIRB satellite beacons, SPOT messenger, Delorme InReach Satellite messenger, radar, and single sideband radio.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week











N° de référence hôte : 884226954892