Small permaculture yak farm welcomes help with eco and wildlife projects in Lapland, Sweden

Country

Suède

Enregistré comme favori 53 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    27.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    * Current info

    We are fully booked until May 2022.

    We have currently have space in May, June, August and September 2022, we would be looking for people with building and mechanical skills next year, if you would be interested in staying with us.

    We are also specifically needing childcare from mid June for 2 weeks when my daughter is off school before we are off work, she loves arts and crafts, baking and board games so a helper who enjoys that would be great*

    We are a small Anglo-Irish family, myself John, my wife Ash and our daughter Rachel. We can speak English, French and a little Swedish and German. We had an early midlife crisis and quit our jobs in London to restore our farm and it is the best thing we ever did. We are working on making the farm self sufficient over the next 3 years. We provide a warm welcome with lots of delicious food and Irish craic!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn animal care, growing vegetables ,building, forestry skills, mechanic all sorts of things really. We are learning to work on permaculture principles. We have a small library of permaculture books and learning material that you are welcome to borrow.

    We think Yaks are amazing animals and they are really Zen and it's great working and hanging out with them.

    Any mechanical skills would be excellent as our really old farm equipment is always in needs of TLC! We are happy for people to learn as they go.

    We are restoring an old 1957 Hillyard boat- it need total renovation so if anyone would like to learn new skills on that. And we have a Maxi 77 in a local marina (5kms away) which can be used for day sailing as part of your stay.

    We are hoping to set up a blog/YouTube channel to start showing our journey and learning/teaching permaculture as we go- so if you would like to get involved in this or have experience this would be great.

    Building greenhouse and earth batteries is one of our prioritises, as growing food year round in our climate is very difficult and we would like to get self sufficient in fresh veggies year round whilst being sustainable. We are interested in how technology can be used to improve farming and sufficiency too.

    But we are open to any suggestions or ideas of how a farm stay with us could help you, maybe Uni students who want hands on experience of wildlife projects etc. We are currently working with a University here in Sweden on a not for profit aquaculture project.

    But most of all we want to share our beautiful farm and how amazing Lapland is both in the summer and winter. We have a small boat which can be used to explore the islands and if your over 25 ( insurance reasons) you can borrow a car to explore on your own.

    If you love nature Lapland is an amazing destination.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are restoring a derelict farm in Northern Sweden, Lapland and we are surrounded by beautiful nature and close to the Baltic sea and lovely beaches. We have 10 hectares of pasture land and 18 hectares of forest.

    We are learning to use permaculture principles to ensure the farm is sustainable and good for the environment, our first goal is self sufficiency. We have a rag tag collections of animals from Yaks to Geese. We have a small herd of 17 Yaks and they are really cool!

    We need help with infrastructure projects such as fencing, building wildlife ponds, aquaculture, greenhouse construction especially eco greenhouses that use earth batteries, building barns etc.

    We plan to make cheese, grow mushrooms, process honey so any skills such as these would be excellent or experience of working on a farm or animal health but we are open to anyone with any skills as everything is useful on a farm.

    We are a small family and will provide a warm welcome and lots of delicious food.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Swedish: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    My daughter is keen to improve her Spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Camping on the farm or use of a small caravan. We also have space for camper vans.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are based near Skelleftea and there is many activities in the summer, such as music festivals and outdoor theatre. We are also close to the sea and we have many unspoiled beaches; we have a small boat that can be used (June-August it's a short season) sail to the numerous islands off the coast. It is very relaxing place to be if you want to just enjoy the summer. We have some great salmon fishing here, and my wife Ash, would be keen to learn, so anyone with fishing skills would be great.

    August, September & October are a great time on the farm and Lapland in general as we have amazing autumn leaf displays, the frenetic pace of farm life in the early summer has slowed a little and we focus on food preservation such as dehydrating, freezing and canning.

    If you came in winter it is very different and can be harsh but it is very beautiful and a great experience. Life on the farm doesn't stop for 1.5m of snowfall over night and minus 30c! There are many winter activities close by such as skiing, the annual ice swimming competition, snowboarding and ice fishing. We use snowmobiles on the farm in the winter which can be lots of fun.

    We look forward to welcoming you at any point during the year!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I work from home, we have good internet connection and I am an IT professional by trade so we can normally fix any issues.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space to park a van and you can hook up to the water and electric. Camper vans are very popular in Northern Sweden so plenty of places to camp cheaply when you travel around too.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have 2 dogs and several cats but we have the space to accommodate your pets just contact us.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hrs a day and 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 865111384298