Come and help eat berries and garden on our homestead animals in Kingston, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 77 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.06.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a regenerative agriculture cattle ranch along the Coeur D'Alene River. We raise grass fed and finished beef, raise pigs and chickens on pasture in the summer, and run a girls summer camp for three weeks in July. We don't use any synthetic inputs, make a lot of compost for our pastures, and focus on minimizing consumption of non renewable energy and material sources and maximizing the natural health of our ecosystem.
    We also have a large garden, 8 horses, a dairy cow and 2 dairy goats, 100 blueberry bushes and a raspberry orchard that provides the food for everyone at the ranch. All of our meat we also raise and everything is raised following organic principles.
    We eat really well.

    'We' is Jordan, Albert and their three kids. Jordan and Albert are in their mid, ugh, late, 30's and participated in WWOOFing in New Zealand and love hosting people from around the world. We've been to every continent except Antarctica and have been to all 50 US states, but our travelling has slowed down considerably, like to zero, since having a 3rd kid so we are hoping some of the world will come to us.
    We are hard working, but open minded and easy going and are very passionate about regenerative agriculture. People of all races, ages, and sexual orientation are welcome.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We generally let people spend the first week getting the feel of the place and then help them identify what role they'll excel in based on their passions and predisposition. You'll have the opportunity to learn about homesteading and enjoy the company of people passionate about regenerative agriculture and have fun experiencing the joy of a life surrounded by animals.
    One of the biggest benefits of working at the ranch? The food. You'll eat like a queen/king/sultan/etc.
    There are LOTS of opportunities to go horse back riding and work with if that's your jam.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We only use help from work away volunteers in our personal garden and for help with our homestead animals. In the Spring and early summer most of the work revolves around working in our personal homestead garden. We use organic, no till methods and in May and June we’re finishing planting. Starting in June we get to start enjoying and harvesting first strawberries, then raspberries and then blueberries start at the end of summer. There’s lots of harvesting and preserving to be done for our personal winter use and lots of good fresh food to be enjoyed. We also have a milk cow and goat for use in our kitchen and interested volunteers can learn to milk and make cheese.

    A typical day involves morning and evening homestead chores (milking our cow or goat, riding horses if you’re experienced or interested, and harvesting from the garden) and one additional project for the day (could be animal, garden, or kitchen related). When it's hot in the afternoons we find some shade, relax, and float down the river.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a small, but clean and comfortable room off the barn and additional accommodation in canvas wall tents with a queen size bed.

    In addition to having clean, indoor bathrooms, we have a lovely outdoor shower setup with hot water. A hot shower outside under a billion stars will change the way you look at showering.
    All of the meals are family style and you will help with prep and cleanup. The food is good, very good.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are relatively remote with little public transit, though we are only 50 minutes by car from the good size city of C'oeur D'Alene. If you don't have your own car, someone is usually going to town every other day or so and can give you a lift. That said, if you need to go to town all the time, this may not be the place for you.
    We are in the Coeur D'Alene Mountains on the Idaho/Montana border in a relatively wild area. There are limitless outdoor activities and we have 3/4 mile of Coeur D'Alene River frontage. If you like to hike, horseback ride, fly fish, explore, this is the place for you. If you like malls, sidewalks, and 'inside time', this may not be a great fit ;)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours/day


N° de référence hôte : 857631444211