Living off-grid in the woods and sustainability in the Alps, Italy

  • Italie
  • Enregistré comme favori 77 fois
  • Activité récente: 30 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    Hi, this is Angela and Gaia :) We live in a tiny farm with our three dogs, Luz, Aeon and Nuni, and two cats, Lilith and Ulisse.
    Our farm is in an enchanted wood at 850 meters of altitude and here we take care of a little bit more of one hectare of land. Our house is a former barn made of stone that we renovated using only natural materials like clay, straw, sheep whool and lime. We did two mass heating stoves for cooking, heating the house and hot water.
    We are off-grid (photovoltaic panel and, when necessary, a generator). There are two composting toilets, one outdoor and one indoor.
    Our garden is no-till and organic. We grow as many different species as we can. We use hay for mulching and do our own compost.
    We prepare sourdough bread, and make our fermented vegetables. We preferably eat what we produce.
    The workawayer will be hosted in a caravan in our property and will use the composting toilet outside. The shower is an outdoor sun shower.
    We sometimes co-operate with other farmers giving and sharing work and knowledge.
    Since we live at the end of a dirt road, you can safely park in the woods about 500 m away from it, it'll take 7-minute walk to get to the farm.
    Please be aware that this place is quite remote and the only entertainment is Nature, depending on the period you can see deers, a fox, common buzzards, and griffons. But also bears and wolves were spotted close to here even if we didn't see them...yet.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Carnia (this area) is a mountain region in the Alps, rich of possibility for hiking in the Nature. You can visit museums (geological, etc) and find typical food or all kind of fairs.
    Angela is a teacher of natural building materials, and would be happy to share her knowledge on sustainable building.

  • Aide


    Activities include gardening, doing hay, wood chopping, building a greenhouse and fences.

  • Langues parlées

    Italien: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    We'll host the Workawayers in a caravan on our land. If you have a tent and you prefer you can camp in it. The accomodation is therefore a kind of camping site accomodation with outdoor composting toilet and an out shower with hot water. Please take with you your sleeping bag and towels.
    One of us is vegetarian, the other omnivorous and we both like fish, if you have any food preferences or allergies, please let us know, we love learning new ways of cooking. We'll provide mainly organic food from the grocery, fresh vegetables and fruit (depending on the month) from the garden.
    We'll prepare lunch for all of us and have it together, whilst you will have your breakfast and dinner (food is provided by us) in the caravan, which has burner and sink.
    Please, keep off smoking in the caravan and common spaces.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Helpers in their time off can relax, hike in the wild nature or go cycling. Our place is one kilometer (20 minutes walking) from the closest village where there is a caffee. Transport is by bus.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Since we live at the end of a dirt road, you can safely park your campervan in the woods about 500 m away from it, it'll take 7-minute walk to get to the farm. Please note that there's no water and electricity in the "parking lot".

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We can possibly accept you with your pet, we just need to have a chat and try to see if they match with our pets ;-)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 854636831923

Feedback (3)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help transforming my old grandparents farmhouse in South Piedmont, Langhe, Italy
Help us taking care of our garden and animals between Olbia and San Teodoro, Sardinia