1 / 5

Help with some DIY in Brockville, Ontario, Canada

  • Canada
  • Enregistré comme favori 8 fois
  • Activité récente: 02.02.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    I just bought a fairly large house, on my own, and there's lots to do to maintain and upgrade it (although it's comfortable to live in as it is). It has three bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, 3 living areas and a nice big yard. It's located just outside of the small city of Brockville, which is about halfway between Toronto and Montreal in Ontario, Canada.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am happy to cook for you or get ingredients if you would like to cook, show you around the area and help with your English if you are not a native speaker (I taught English for several years). I have a lot of experience with official English language tests, so I am happy to help with preparation for that. I am open to suggestions about things you might like to do while you're here.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I'm mostly looking for people who are at least a little bit knowledgeable of basic DIY and have a few skills (decorating, using tools, gardening or anything). More general tasks could include cleaning, sourcing second-hand things for the house, snow shovelling, yard clean-up, etc, so don't worry if you aren't a DIY expert. I can offer a flexible work arrangement of around 20 hours per week so that you can take off and explore nearby places.

    I have set my limit to one Workawayer at a time as I don't feel I have enough work for two people. However, I may accept a couple for a maximum stay of one week, especially if you already have really good home improvement skills.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Happy to help you with your English and to explain aspects of the language. However, I am not offering formal lessons. I would also appreciate opportunities to practise my Spanish, Italian or French.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own room with a new queen-size mattress and I am happy for you to have sole use of the downstairs washroom. However, there is only one shower/bathtub in the upstairs bathroom. I live on a fairly busy road, so there is traffic but I don't find it too intrusive. The photos on my profile are from when the house was for sale, so the furniture is different (and, of course, there is now a bed in the guest bedroom!!)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Ottawa is 1 hour or so by car, Montreal just over 2 hours, Toronto about 3 hours, and trains and buses are available. There are a couple of border crossings with the USA nearby too, but I don't think there's any public transport to take you over.

    I am a sociable person but I will also respect your privacy and can keep the house quiet (I need things to be relatively quiet while I'm working). This is an LGBTQ+-friendly house and I appreciate respectful and open-minded people. I'm a flexitarian and I mostly eat vegetarian or fish/seafood, but this is not strict.

    Brockville is a pleasant area with really friendly inhabitants and there are definitely some cool places to spend time in nature nearby. Overall, I think this opportunity would be perfect for someone who is perhaps travelling across the region or the country and would like to stop for a few days or a week or two between Montreal and Toronto.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Internet is via cable and is at 40Mbps, which should be fine for most purposes. You are welcome to use the dining table for working.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Only housetrained, vaccinated and well-mannered dogs, please.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 20 hours per week (unless you really want to do more), days and times are flexible

N° de référence hôte : 848878718851

Photos

Feedback

Help with interior house painting and experience remote beaches and wildlife in Port Hardy, Canada
Aidez dans une ferme de bisons en Colombie-Britannique au Canada