1 / 5

Come break trails on our homestead in rural Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 32 fois
  • Activité récente: 12 mars 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins



  • Description


    Will and I (Vanessa) have been building our homestead in rural Nova Scotia since 2020. We experiment in agroecology and holistic forest management. We both also have "regular" jobs and could use extra hands primarily clearing trails and preparing firewood.
    For livestock we have alpacas, a llama, chickens, and ducks this year. Helping socialize the alpacas (taking them for daily walks, hanging out with them) would be appreciated. Our two medium-sized dogs and cat live with us as well.
    We are also very interested in hosting artists interested in working with natural materials - think, biodegradable forest installation. Let us know your ideas!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are fairly typical rural Canadians. We work hard, enjoy hiking, and tend to wear a lot of plaid. We are down to earth and the use-what-you-have type. Our community of friends is like-minded and exudes tolerance. We like to have a good laugh and love the feeling of falling into bed after a great day of working outdoors.

  • Aide


    We are looking for volunteers to help with clearing trails (moving/chipping brush) and firewood (running splitter/stacking) as well as alpaca socialization.

    Will and I spent time volunteering on our honeymoon, and now we are ready to pass on the opportunity. We have rustic, private accommodations available and/or a place to park your trailer/camper/van/tent, an all-you-can-eat garden, and an extensive library to browse. You are welcome to borrow our kayaks and bicycles in your downtime.

    We are looking for ONE WEEK commitments of 10-20 hours of labor in exchange.

    The ideal candidate(s) will be someone who enjoys working independently and is self-motivated. We will guide you, but we won’t hold your hand—nobody got time for that. If you don’t like dirt, bugs, sweating, vegetables, working outdoors, or weather, this won’t be up your alley. However, if you are interested in ecology, self-sufficiency, growing your network, quiet country living, and challenging yourself—it could be!

    Send us a message of intent that includes any relevant skills, what you hope to learn, and your concrete availability. You must have your own valid health insurance and sign a liability waiver. This is not a paid position—this is a volunteer opportunity in exchange for accommodations, food, and knowledge. We will consider individuals and families but prefer pairs. You will have A LOT of time to entertain yourselves on your own. We are also remote and prefer those with their own transportation.


    We look forward to seeing you on the farm!
    Vanessa (and Will)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are fluent in English and are interested in learning Spanish and French.

  • Hébergement


    1. One room cabin with electricity, a nice outhouse, a screened tent with a picnic table, bottled water, hot plate, fire pit, super comfy single bed, a cot, and 10 private acres to roam. Guests can shower at the farmhouse (***every other day maximum, we are on a well. Lot's of fresh water bodies in the area to go for a dip).

    2. There is also ample parking for anyone travelling with an RV/Van/ tenting etc.

    You are welcome to help yourself to the garden. We will also provide you with staples like pasta, rice, beans, and flour. You will have to buy any treats, alcohol, things we don't normally eat or grow ourselves, etc. Vanessa will cook a communal meal once a week and would be thrilled if you did the same using what's grown on site.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Forty minute drive to both the Atlantic ocean and the Bay of Fundy! Many local lakes, fishing holes, and trail systems inbetween. Lots of local markets, vineyards, and U-picks.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    You are welcome to use the internet at anytime except for when Vanessa is working. She works in health care and for privacy reasons can't have anyone in the house during her shifts (15 hours a week). The internet is very good.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Can accommodate any size vehicle for parking, electrical hook-up only.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    You are welcome to keep your pets with you on the property across the road. They CANNOT come up to the farm.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 841982927899

Feedback (2)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)