Housesitters wanted for Chateau in Orne, Normandy

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 37 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.09.2020

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our Chateau is a small one by French standards with beautiful and historic outbuildings converted to luxury accommodation. Due to a change in our personal circumstances we need to move back to the UK and visit to continue the renovations as time and Covid travel restrictions allow! We are looking for a person or a couple to live in one of the converted outbuildings and keep an eye on the property, to maintain the gardens and of course experience life in Normandy. We are happy to consider a family and dogs are also welcome.
    The Chateau and gites have some truly beautiful features And it is a wonderful place to live, find peace and happiness .
    It also has a wonderful history that includes having been taken over by German soldiers during WW2 and having the Resistance based in its outbuildings where they made cheese, bread and other food to feed the German Officers whilst hiding one of the biggest Arms caches in Normandy!
    There is plenty to do locally although we must admit often we end up sipping a glass if wine and sitting by the lake just enjoying the tranquility of this lovely place
    We would want someone to be fully moved in and settled by December and have the opportunity to proved a handover that shares all the information they would need to keep everything secure and understand their role in maintaining the grounds etc

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our chateau is in rural France and whilst we have been completely welcomed by everyone we have met and made many French friends the culture is firmly embedded and initially we adjusted our expectations and lives to fit in... now we love the slower pace of life, the strong family and Neighbour values and the focus on Normandy as somewhere we should all be proud of - there is so much to learn about food, wine, cider, gardening and of course if anyone is interested in history we are at the base of the Falaise gap which saw one of the biggest battles of WW2. In fact the area is steeped in history, being only 20 minutes from William the Conquerers castle and 45 mins in the other direction to Le Mans.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need travelers who are happy to garden, clear Twigs and leaves, cut grass, Weed and generally maintain the 10 acres that come with the chateau.
    They will need to ensure the Chateau and it’s outbuildings are secure and respond to the need for any urgent issues such as a plumbing leak or slate off by contacting us so we can get a tradesman to visit and sort.
    None of this is a full time need and there will be plenty of time to enjoy the chateau and the local area if the travelers choose to.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have three luxury gites which are options for our traveller and would allocate to them as their personal accommodation based on preferences and needs. All are fully equipped and have wood burners and heating for cold winter days. They have previously been used as 5 star holiday accommodation and offer a wonderful place to stay

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our workawayer must love the outside life, nature and be willing to lavish love on the place they can call home for the duration of their stay. The area is not an action packed hotspot however if our helper wants to explore a history and culture rich area they will not be disappointed.
    We will be visiting whenever we can - probably a week a month to continue renovating the chateau itself but their role in upkeep of the grounds would continue to allow our focus to be on the work needed in main building

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    All pets accepted

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 829478845747