mis à jour  

Help with kids on a beautiful west coast Island, Canada

  • Canada
  • Enregistré comme favori 161 fois
  • Activité récente: 27 mars 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    We are a family of four Living and working in a small island community just off the coast of Vancouver B.C. We are looking for help around the house and with childcare (Elijah 8 and Madeleine 6). We have a restuarant which means we need help with the children occasionally in the evenings and daytime. The restuarant is very close so we are always able to come home if there is an issue and we spend as much time with our children as we can so are looking for someone to be part of our family and fill the gaps. We would also like our guest to help around the house however best suited and join in our blended homeschool program. We have a room available in our home that is a 25 minuite walk from the ferry and village. Our home overlooks a lake, surrounded by the lush forests and is on the trailhead for all of the trails on Mount Gardner (our Islands mountain) which are connected to the trails that go back to the village. Bowen is a vibrant community full of artisans, musicians and artists, surrounded by beaches and the spectacular nature of coastal British Colombia. Vancouver is a 25 minute ferry ride away so we are still easily connected to the city while keeping our rural island charm. Our lives consist of being part of a rich food culture and a blended homeschool community (part in school part at home). If our guests are interested they can join us in our passion of food, kids and nature. We ask our guests to join us for a minimum of 3 months (we do make exceptions) to allow the kids to make healthy attachments and minimize our goodbyes.

    Thanks for reading and we look forward to hearing from you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The community we live in is, we feel, very special with strong supports and a diverse population. There are other family’s participating in work away so there are lots of easy friendships and access to the community life. Living and working in this community can be a very positive experience as the relationships that can be built are so rich and full of learning. Personally we as a family are trying to live in a way that our children have more time with both parents and family which isn’t easy to accomplish and a lot could be learned from our struggles and journey. We (Sarah-Jane and Gord) have the privilege to work together and are very yin/yang so have some great perspective on relationships and life. We love good conversation/debate and sharing. Also as we are in the heart of the natural richness of coastal BC, this is a wonderful place to spend time if you enjoy being in nature.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We welcome someone who can occasionally take on the evening routine with our two kids as well as some daytime care (including schooling if your interested) and housekeeping. For the nights this would involve cooking and feeding the children, bathing them and putting them to bed then staying present in the house if they wake or need attention until one of us gets home (usually by 9pm at the latest). The kids are very good at nights as they have a set routine so it wont be difficult once they have gotten to know you. The daytime help would be playing with the kids for a few hours while we do book work or maintance at the restuarant or joining us in our homeschooling. Also general help around the house as someone who is part of the family.
    As our restaurant has a beautiful garden patio and is always busy, if the applicants are interested, there are lots of small things like gardening to help with there too.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    We have a room in our home which will be your private space, it’s not large but has lots of natural light a big closet, a comfy reading chair and a desk. There is a bathroom next door which will be shared with the kids. The living space (kitchen and living rooms) would be shared and are full of family life. As we are a restuarant family there is always lots of food and cooking so we hope and encourage our guests to join in.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have high speed internet connection and the guest room includes a nice desk area.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Around 25hrs a week

N° de référence hôte : 827399715784

Feedback (2)


Tall theatre ship near Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Help me in maintaining and building the property in British Columbia, Canada