Help with daily life in my homestead and enjoy a secluded mountain home in Southern Colorado, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 249 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our home is in Southern Colorado sitting atop of the Wet Mountains at 8500 feet, overlooking the Sangre de Cristo mountain range, thus providing 360 degrees mountain views. We are also part of the Dark Sky community, meaning our night skies are desired by both astronomers and astro-photographers alike.

    Our property consists of 75 acres that is inhabited by a variety of wildlife, including deer, elk, fox, black bear, bobcats, mountain lions, turkeys and numerous species of birds. We are surrounded with natural wonders with hiking to be enjoyed on both our property as well as the adjoining National Forest.

    If you are looking for more social activity and the bustle of a larger town, this is not the place for you. However, if you are drawn to spending time in the wilderness, exploring the mountains, and enjoying a quieter, slower pace of life, then this is the place you are looking for. It's very peaceful here, and we want to keep it that way, so this would not be a good fit for someone who wants to party. We have seasonal neighbors, but even they are over a half-mile away.

    During the summer there is an unlimited amount of outdoor activities such as white water rafting, hiking, technical climbing, mountain biking, and fishing. Often, there are nearby fairs, farmers markets, music and rodeos to attend.

    During the winter months, we are 2 hours from Monarch Mountain, 3.5 hours from Keystone, Siverthorne, Breckenridge, or 4 hours from Wolf Creek ski resorts. Ski season lasts from Nov/Dec to April/May depending on the snowfall.

    About us: I took an early retirement from Cyber Security (specialized in Forensics) in order to provide a healthier lifestyle for my wife. We have three large dogs that spend their days outside with me, and the rest of the time curled up on the couch or bed. When I’m not working outside on projects, I enjoy hiking, photography, reading and learning new things in general. My wife is trying her hand at gardening and would enjoy learning from others.

    Please contact us with any questions you have.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We do our best to provide travelers with opportunities to do and see as much of Colorado and the surrounding area has to offer. The local area is a hub for artists, farmers, and ranchers. You will be able to see what life is like in a clean, relaxed part of the United States.

    I will also teach you proper fire mitigation that allows our forests to remain healthy, as well as remodeling skills.

    One last thing: Workaway is a cultural exchange. We are open to all cultures and points of view. In a world of conflicting social and political views, we feel it's important for volunteers who stay with us to be willing to accept the fact that their political views may not be the same as ours and that is okay. We don't mind listening and discussing world events and politics when it is done is a calm and open environment.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am currently seeking someone who would be interested in helping on our homestead. I am seeking someone who can stay for at least two weeks or more. Someone who is trustworthy, self-motivated, common sense, hard worker, dependable, mature, and honest. The maximum length of stay that would make sense will depend on how much we all enjoy each other’s company.

    My wife needs assistance with basic household help, light cooking and help with her garden, as she is moderately disabled and has difficulty preforming certain tasks, or about 1 hour per day. Please note, due to medical issues she doesn't interact a lot with guests (or friends and family for that matter).

    Depending on your abilities, I always need a hand on homesteading projects such as fire mitigation, building outdoor spaces (fire pit and seating, walkways, etc.), splitting firewood, and general maintenance. This kind of help will require the use of a chainsaw, log splitter, moving tree limbs, rocks, and the use of general tools.

    For 2021 I will be focusing on the following projects:.
    * Clearing a path for a game fence as I intend to add livestock within the next 2 years.
    * Installing a game fence around the property or just shy of 2 miles of fencing
    ** Setting 4" x 8' posts every 10 feet in concrete
    * Sanding and refinishing some log walls

    NO guests under 21 years old.
    Couples welcome

    PLEASE NOTE: During the winter months, the weather at this elevation generally allows limited outdoor projects between mid November and mid to late April.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private room with a queen size bed (see photos) and linens provided.

    You will need to be self-reliant as far as having your own transportation as the nearest town is 40 minutes away, otherwise a trip into town once a week is very do able. Guests traveling in their own vehicle will have a flexible stay & be to get about to see the sights in the region.

    All food inside the home would be provided for you. We don't have any food restrictions but try to eat healthy, balanced meals. We enjoy all kinds of food and love to try new dishes. We eat a lot of meat, fish, poultry and vegetables. Not to mention we love very hot and spicy food. I tend to prepare a filling lunch, but generally only eat a light snack or salad in the evenings. That said, you are more than welcome to make yourself at home in the kitchen. For those with diet restrictions, vegetarians, and or vegans, you will be responsible for your own meals. Please note that the grocery store is a 2.5 hour round trip.

    Due to the construction of the home (16 inch thick adobe brick walls), Wi-Fi is currently only available in the main areas of the home. Please NOTE, cell phones do NOT work out here.

    Our lifestyle is laid back, flexible and accommodating. It is very important that guests and volunteers make themselves at home and not feel excluded in any way.

    If you smoke tobacco or marijuana, that would be outside only.
    Volunteers MUST have their own health and/or accident insurance.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is so much to do in Colorado especially if you enjoy outdoor activities! Colorado is one of the best places in the world for skiing and hiking, as well as numerous other activities.

    The small, scenic town of Westcliffe is 40 minutes away by car. The town is at the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo Mountain range which provides numerous fourteeners for hiking along with ATV trails, fishing, with breathtaking views and lots of wilderness to explore.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have a 50 amp circuit at the garage along with water, but no sewer connection yet.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











N° de référence hôte : 817317765537