Come and help us on our organic farm and learn about our practices in the lovely area of Mount Tyson, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 38 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.09.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    231

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is a certified organic vegetable farm in the lovely area of Mount Tyson run by James & Ronnie with a bit of help from Ronnie's father Don. We have 3 children who have all left home but like to visit when they can. James has been farming all his life & Ronnie was raised on a farm & used to work in Administration in the rural sector. We purchased our farm in late 2016 and made the change to organic farming. We also run organic pasture raised pigs & a few cattle. We are working towards incorporating Regenerative & Natural Sequence Farming into our farm thus looking at a more holistic way of farming. We are a dog & cat friendly family with 1 working Kelpie dogs and one very spoilt Jack Russell & a cat who have the run of the house. So if you do not like cats or dogs this probably won't suit you. Our farm is a non smoking environment. We are a busy farm with a lot to do as we are still getting our farm how we need it to work efficiently. We also occassionally take produce to the local farmer's market in Toowoomba on Saturdays where it is a great way of meeting a large diversity of people & seeing the produce that is grown & supplied locally. During the day you will be working along side one of us but at other times working unsupervised. If you are a person who can show initiative & pitch in and get things done you will fit right in here and enjoy your time with us. Some of the work can be quite physical but we would only give you jobs that we know you can handle. We love to teach people about Organics & Regenerative farming & the benefits to the environment & your health. We enjoy learning about other cultures & enjoy a chat over a good meals & maybe a glass of wine or beer. If you like to spend a lot of time on the internet, your phone, snapchat etc.... this would not be the place for you as we like to interact with our volunteers and have a family environment. As we are quite slack & haven't yet learnt another language so please remember that we only speak English & a good grasp of the English language would be essential as to prevent any misunderstandings. Our initial stay would be for 1 week to see if we all mesh then longer stays to be negotiated after that. We can collect you from Toowoomba which is half an our from Mount Tyson. Please note that we are a very busy enterprise & we strive to reply to all emails promptly. What we do ask that when contacting us you have a genuine interest in coming here and reply to us ASAP. We do not have the time to be wondering if or when you are coming, we appreciate a decisive decision to come here or to contact us and let us know that you won't be coming.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a certified organic farm so travellers can expect to learn about organic farming practices. Also we raise organic pigs & cattle so would be learning how to care for them also. You would also be learning along side us us we shift to incorporate Regenerative farming & Natural Sequence farming. We try to practice what we preach so you can expect lovely fresh home grown organic food & a healthy lifestyle.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Work includes planting, harvesting, weeding, feeding stock, packing produce, fencing, mowing, gardening, irrigation, help with market stall and General Farm Maintenance. We cannot provide any paid work at the present time.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accomodation will be in a very neat & tidy caravan with amenities being within the house. We have Wiifi available. We are usually early risers as we try to get the bigs jobs completed before the heat kicks in. I like to cook healthy meals at night but breakfast & lunch is usually help yourself to the fridge & pantry unless I have made something. Usually the deal is if I cook, others tidy up, stack the dishwasher or wash up. We also ask that you are a tidy person who cleans up after themselves. We provide accomodation for one - two people.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located only half an hour from the beautiful garden city of Toowoomba which has many local attractions. We are also close to the Bunya mountains which is renowned for its beautiful rainforests and stunning wildlife. We are also close to Coolmunda dam which is great for water skiing and camping. the Queen Mary falls are reasonable drive to visit also.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 812839552513