1 / 5

Help establish an orchard in beautiful locale near Raglan, New Zealand

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 178 fois
  • Activité récente: 17.01.2023




  • Description


    We are Chris and Claire.

    I originally came to Raglan some 10 years ago with the intent of buying a holiday home. A couple of years later I met my partner Claire who has lived in and around Raglan for 30 years. I moved to Raglan permanently in 2014 from Melbourne where I had lived for the previous many years. The following year we decided to build a new home on some land we found near Raglan. We both have families from other relationships and both our kids are grown and living in various parts of NZ and the world. In addition to the main house we have a separate guest house which is rented to a young French guy who works in Raglan.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers will benefit from a unique experience in one of the most beautiful parts of rural New Zealand. The Waikato is rich in Maori and European history and my partner can impart her knowledge to any interested visitors. In addition she has a deep knowledge and understanding of native flora and fauna and is more than willing to share that knowledge. We would also like to learn more about other countries and cultures from our visitors. We are well travelled and happy to share our experiences from around the world plus help with learning English if required. One of the son's of my partner is currently doing Workaday in Europe and is having enjoyable experiences, so it would also be nice to give back.The location is very beautiful looking out over the upper harbour on a quiet country road about 10 minutes from Raglan.

  • Aide


    We've recently built a house on 2 acres near Raglan and need help clearing part of the land for our orchard. The land was farmland but hasn't been grazed for over 2 years so the job is basically removing weeds from an area of about 1000 square metres so that we can plant trees and sow orchard friendly ground cover.

    We've also planted several hundred natives and are in the process of mulching around them so might need a bit of help with that as well.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Choice between a bedroom with queen bed and bathroom in 3 bedroom house or a second bedroom with two single beds. The living area of the house is open plan with the master bedroom at the opposite end to the two other bedrooms.
    Food is also provided although guests are welcome to also cook if they wish.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Raglan is a renowned surfing area with some world famous breaks. It is also popular with kite surfers, kayakers, SUP and is also popular for tramping, mountain biking, fishing and all forms of outdoor sport.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 794343123678

Feedback (9)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

happy, easy going family of 6 looking for help with looking after the children and around the property. Wellington, NZ
Help us rearrange our garden in the heart of New Plymouth, New Zealand