Help welcome in setting up an allotment plot in beautiful Rutland, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 16 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly, married, young at heart couple who have recently renovated a small mews house in Oakham. We are by no means in the slippers brigade and are a lively couple who don't take life too seriously. We've been hosting volunteers at our other property in Italy for the last 8 years and are a Workaway Pioneer and Top Rated Host. We have a 100% host rating on our other profile, where there are 97 feedbacks. If you wish to read our 5* feedbacks, you can find us under Italy, Basilicata with the title "Keen gardeners needed to help at a self sufficient property in rural southern Italy".

    We have now set up this profile for our new UK project. We have just taken on an allotment plot in Rutland which is the reason we are looking for Workawayers. We need help to get it all set up and would love volunteers who wish to learn about allotments and what is involved in growing your own food. Unfortunately the bones are starting to creak and we are not able to work on the land as we used to.

    We love our fresh home grown food and in the last 10 years have been growing most of our own produce in Italy so that we are almost self sufficient. We now setting up something similiar here in the UK. We've been very lucky that we have found a plot which has been relatively well tended until a few months ago, so there is not too much heavy labour required.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn what is involved in setting up an allotment plot and getting it ready in order to become self sufficient with water collection and food growing and harvesting.

    Opportunity to chat with other plot holders to learn different techniques people use for self sufficiency.

    Opportunity to learn about what different vegetables need; how to prepare and tend to the soil and how to conserve water and set up irrigation pipework for water saving.

    Enjoy exploring Rutland, which is the smallest county in the UK and truly beautiful.

    We are happy to share how we decided to move from the rat race of stressful professional careers to an almost self sufficient life, living between Italy and the UK.

    We want to be as Eco friendly as possible and set up collecting and harvesting our own rain water for watering the vegetable bed; using solar energy for irrigation and up cycling as much as possible so that we can reduce waste.

    Having both been professional employers and recruiters we are happy to discuss and give careers advice and guidance if you wish. We've been professionals in the corporate world for over 40 years and have now chosen a different type of life for retirement.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The allotment plot is in relatively good shape, having been tended to by an elderly gentleman in the past. I now wish to make it my own and smarten it up and try and make it as self sufficient as possible.

    I'm seeking help from enthusiastic people who can work with me (and also independently when I'm not there); to get everything up and running and learn about self sufficiency.

    The tasks will include:
    1. Making and preparing compost bins from pallets
    2. Making an area for the new water storage
    3. Building a shed
    4. Preparing the land for the above by laying down slabs which I have already acquired
    5. Getting everything installed and set up, using primarily up cycled materials which I have collected.
    6. Preparing vegetable frames
    7. Once everything is set up the individual vegetable beds will be prepared and planted out with the vegetables.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Happy to accept foreigners who wish to practice their English.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be living in my modern house and have use of the home to yourself. It has recently been completely renovated and has a brand new kitchen; bathroom and newly landscaped garden. In a quiet cul de sac, within walking distance into town.

    The house is just a short 5 minute walk to the allotment where the volunteering will be taking place.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You'll have plenty of free time and there is a lot to see and do around Rutland.

    Places of interest to visit which are all close to the house include:
    Oakham Castle
    Rutland Water
    Aqua Park
    Falconry and Owl Centre
    Barnsdale Gardens
    Rutland Water Nature Reserve and Bird Watching Centre
    Bugtopia The Zoo
    Normanton Church
    Rutland Farm Park
    Rutland County Museum
    All Saints Church, Oakham
    Lyndon Visitor Centre

    We will provide provisions for breakfast and some basic food staples for cooking but as we are only asking 4 hours per day, 5 days a week and giving you the full run of our home, you will be responsible for your own cooking.

    There is good mobile phone signal at the house and mobile data on phones works well.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Private parking outside the house for a camper van is available

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours per, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 791686645331