Help out around our organic self-sustainable property in the centre of the North Island, New Zealand

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

Enregistré comme favori 47 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.12.2019

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a four week internship starting on 18 February 2019.

    This focuses on the harvesting of seasonal fruits and vegetables and establishing the winter gardens. Includes food, accommodation and workshops in return for work 9-5 Monday to Friday. A serious learning experience for anyone wanting to live sustainably.
    A commitment to stay the full period is required.
    Non-smokers only and we will not cater for special dietary needs or food allergies.

    We are an organic self-sustainable property in the centre of the North Island - aka Middle Earth.
    I grow 99% of our food in a holistic, organic, established, integrated system along permaculture methods. I grow a huge range of fruits, raise our own meat (cows, sheep, pigs, chickens, ducks, geese, quail), honey and eggs, milk a house cow, and have large vegetable gardens.
    I have an extensive orchard and am interested in growing nutrient dense, natural foods for our own consumption.
    Our 25h farm provides all our food and more we are currently developing a food forest for pigs and raising orphaned calves on surrogate cows.
    I teach and write about how to live sustainably off the land and am passionate about sharing ideas with others.
    Accommodation is in our home and meals and lifestyle are shared with us.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have chosen our lifestyle as we believe the way we live is not damaging to the environment and our stewardship of the land is beneficial so that it the earth will be a better place for us having inhabited it. We also believe that by showing others how easy and comfortable our life is, they may be inspired to make changes to their own lifestyles for the better. Every small change helps. So instead of forcing or dictating to others to be mindful of the environment, we prefer to demonstrate how wonderful sustainable choices can be.
    Tasks include caring for bees, pigs, sheep, cows and poultry (including feeding, birthing and processing for food) and milking and managing a dairy cow, making bread, butter, yoghurt, cheese etc. Some construction projects may be undertaken but the focus is on growing, gathering, processing and cooking wholesome food.We love hosting people from other countries who bring new ideas and perspectives into our way of life and learning from them too.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We ask visitors to join our routine, working with us during the week and having weekends off to explore our lovely countryside.
    The work is varied, but mostly outside. Either in the garden harvesting and weeding vegetables, tending trees in the orchard, planting up the food forest or helping on the farm.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You are sharing the house with my husband and I, and the Cat (with a capital C), the dog and currently a pet pig.
    You have a bedroom to yourself and share the bathroom, living room and kitchen with us.
    Meals are provided from our own organic produce. We do not cater for special diets but have an abundance of organic meat, fruit and vegetables. You are expected to help with the preparation and clean up of meals. You are welcome to consume alcohol or sweets but are expected to provide your own.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are centrally located nearby to Hobbiton, the Waikato River trails, Mt Maungatautiri bird sanctuary and Te Waihou springs.
    The towns of Hamilton, Tauranga, Rotorua and Taupo are all within a hours drive making us a great base to explore the central North Island - if you have a car. The closest village is Tirau - 4km away.
    There is no smoking allowed anywhere on our property at any time.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 781245361543