Farmstay in the tropical rainforest Kuranda, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 151 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 18 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    About us:
    We are a young Australian family (Stefan and Bronte) with 2 year old son and a 6 month old baby girl. We are vegetarian, lefties, progressive,Science focused, LGBT friendly house hold. Our house is a busy and hectic one at the moment with the kids! If you love young kids, and a family environment this is the place for you.

    Our Work and hobbies:
    Our background is science in the fields Marine Biology and Ecology but currently Stefan works at a local school as a teachers aid and Bronte is on maternity leave at home looking after the kids. We are homebodies, we love hanging out in the garden with our kids and animals. Other things we enjoy are walks in nature looking for animals and at plants, gardening, hanging out with our family and friends.

    About our Farm stay:
    We both care deeply about animals which is why we started an animal sanctuary for rescued animals. Since we have had the kids the sanctuary has had to been hugely downsized to only the animals listed below.
    The sanctuary was started for chickens from battery farms. Current we have rehomed all our battery hens but plan to get more soon.

    Our Animals:
    Rescues:
    3 Roosters
    5 Muscovy Ducks
    5 Muscovy Ducklings
    1 Karkee Cambell
    2 Cats

    Non Rescues:
    2 Karkee Cambells
    1 Turkey
    1 Rhode Island Red
    Fish
    4 Guinea Pigs
    2 Border Collies

    We are seeking someone to help who:

    ~Can help Bronte with daily cleaning chores around the house.
    ~Someone who loves kids, who doesn't mind doing a bit of child care while Bronte is doing cleaning around the house.
    ~A kind hearted animal lover to help us with the care of our animals <3

    Note: Some of these animals have had a horrible life before they came to us so we need someone to help us who truly loves and cares for animals as a big part of what we do is rehabilitation.

    Because we have 2 young children our house hold is a quiet (aside from the noise the kids make), safe and peaceful (aside from when the kids lose it) place for non- partiers. We are a non smoking house hold.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Australian English lessons- as requested
    Science lessons from 2 scientists - as requested
    Exclusions/ sightseeing

    All meals/ food provided.
    Free board, electricity, water.
    Animal husbandry experience with opportunity of rehabilitation experience
    Experience life with a young Australian family in the tropical rainforest.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Morning Main Job - Animals

    1. Letting the poultry out from snake proof overnight enclosure.
    2. Feeding, watering animals, cleaning animal food and water bowls.Cleaning anf filling their ponds.
    3. Collecting Poultry eggs, cleaning, drying them, packaging them and dating them.
    4. Walk dogs.
    5. Clean cat, dog and poultry houses (& toys if needed).
    6. Dog and cat grooming.
    7. Patting and playing, grooming and cuddling with cats and dogs.
    8. Handling baby chickens/ducks to get them used to people.
    9. Assisting in dog training.

    Morning Main Job - Gardening:
    1.Watering.
    2. planting.
    3. weeding.
    4. composting.


    Afternoon Main Job - Animals

    1. Putting poultry into snake proof overnight enclosure.
    2. Feeding, watering animals, cleaning animal food and water bowls.
    2. Collecting Poultry eggs, cleaning them, drying them, packaging them and dating them.
    3. Walk dogs.
    4. clean cat, dog houses.
    5. Dog and cat grooming.
    6. Patting, playing and cuddling cats and dogs, handling baby chickens to get them used to people.
    7. Assisting in dog training.

    Secondary jobs: Middle of day

    1. Not for profit Animal sanctuary assistance: website and social media editing.

    2. House hold jobs such as : unpacking and packing dishwasher, mopping floor, vacuum floor, dusting, removing mold, cleaning fans,cleaning windows, putting on washing, hanging out washing, bringing in washing, dishes, cleaning bathrooms. Putting bins out and washing them out. Cleaning fridge, oven, microwave,stove top. Cooking.

    3. House hold maintaining: d.i.y home improvements.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    About the House:

    Size: Acreage rainforest property

    4 bedrooms
    2 bathrooms
    kitchen
    lounge room
    Dinning room
    laundry inside
    Several outdoor eating and lounge areas
    Out door fire place

    Flora: Tropical rainforest with Barron River close to property.

    Fauna: Plenty of beautiful and interesting native animals frequent the property. Such as Bush Turkeys, Goannas, Ulysses Butterfly, Golden Orb Spider, Saint Andrews Cross Spider, Carpet Python and many bird and insect species.

    Where: Located at the top of the range a short walk from the Kuranda township.

    Transport: Local bus from Kuranda township. Goes to and from Cairns. Bus stop not far from house. Alternative travel is with Stefan and Bronte in their car.

    Other information:
    internet - yes
    Phone reception - yes ( No landline)
    Water- rainwater only ,so seeking someone who can have short showers ( use minimal water).
    Heater -yes
    Air-conditioning - yes

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    as above

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Animal jobs am and pm, day time jobs a few

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)





N° de référence hôte : 768698534628