Help with gardening and planting around our family farm in Kitwanga, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 8 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.07.2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We bought a farm! Our small farm is on Highway 37 (the Stewart-Cassiar Alaska highway) near the village of Kitwanga, BC. In 2019, our first year here, we invested in some basic infrastructure and tools and planted two small test gardens, which were successful. In 2020, we are planning to start working toward becoming a Market Garden, and actually make a small income off the farm. Our focus in 2020 will be greens for sale, and storage veg for ourselves and gifting and trade. We also plan to harvest wild edibles. We plan on planting more fruit trees. The farm is naturally full of indigenous fruit - saskatoon berries, roses, wild apples, wild cherries, and more. We're experimenting with different crops each year to see what performs well in our climate and soil.

    We're looking for help during the busy times of year: planting, and harvest time (March - October).

    Most of the work on this farm will be development for the next few years - we will be developing soil and building a lot of infrastructure for the future. If you enjoy actively working land, operating tractors, and building/ carpentry work, this phase of our farm development will be a lot of fun!

    NOTE - we "free school" our two kids, they are a constant presence on our farm and are part of our farm. We have beautiful views!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a mostly Indigenous Canadian population and are surrounded by nature and history. We can share our knowledge of farming and nature.

    We are near parks and lots of forest, have a creek, and are near clean rivers

  • Aide

    Aide

    Types of tasks and help we need urgently (in no order):

    * CARPENTRY - farm and farm related structures from simple bracing and platforms to more complex buildings, to shelving. Will be building or re-building wash pack, cold storage, root cellars, and more.
    * PLANTS - propagation, transplanting, pot-ups, plant-ins.
    * FIREWOOD AND WOOD CHIPS - chip up branches, buck up trees and pile for future firewood. All the trees are felled by a professional faller.
    * COMPOSTING - creation of teas, compost piles
    * BED PREP - Prepping beds - till (if needed), adding compost, tilth, add drip line, add cover (if needed) and transplant or direct seed.
    * IRRIGATION - assistance building irrigation systems, ponds, field irrigation
    * MACHINE WORK - fields need plowing (first time ever plow), tilling (to break up sod), brush mowing, compost pile building, trenching, etc
    * PASSION PROJECTS - wood fired hot tub build, cabin or yurt build, sauna build, trails, fun garden creation
    * MECHANICS - Maintenance and repair of machinery
    * PAINTING - Building and machinery painting and re-painting 
    * HARVEST and WASH PACK - Starting mid-May, will be doing initial harvests

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    German: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have an RV, and lots of places for tents if you prefer. We look forward to meeting travellers.

    We offer shared lunch and dinner on days when we're working together. We provide food for you to make your own breakfasts and meals on your days off.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have strong highspeed that runs off our cell phone network. It works well for video conferencing etc. We have 2 wifi areas on the farm.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can provide power and water, and the sewer can be dumped on site as well.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 768662558743