Farm work, permaculture, child care and small building in the Drôme valley, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 100 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.02.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 18 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    WE STILL NEED HELP WITH CHILDCARE / PRESERVES UNTIL THE END OF AUGUST !

    We are a family of 4 living in the South of France. Well, not exactly South-south, it's more a middle-south area :)

    Léo is a market gardener : he grows organic vegetables and fruit in his farm, 13kms away from our house. Ariane is a primary school teacher (on leave at the moment, to be a full-time mum !), and intends to convert Léo's vegetables and fruits into delicious preserves (jam, coulis, fermented vegetables...)

    We are rather quiet, but can be talkative. Léo loves music, Ariane loves silence ; we both need daily moments of solitude to stay sane :)
    We always have new improving ideas, Léo about his farm and Ariane about home and the kids.
    We are both cooking enthusiasts, and often (gently) fight to know who will be cooking dinner ;)

    Ariane has heavy back pains, that's why she needs help with the kids and preserving :) She's self-autonomous, but can't drive and can't carry anything heavy, esp. Gaël (24 lbs !) that she can't hold for more than a couple of minutes.

    Elsa (6 yrs old) goes to school 4 days/week, Gaël (2 yrs old) goes to his nanny's 4 days a week. In july and august, they are both at home all day with Ariane -Léo works full time in summer. Elsa is a lovely but shy little girl, it takes her a few days before she feels comfortable with strangers. Gaël is a sociable, smiling and peaceful baby ; they both get along very well.

    When Ariane had no kids (loooooong time ago !), she used to volunteer in a eco-house building project, and loved to learn new skills, share a family life and bring all the help, ideas and energy she had.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We would be glad to share everything we know ! If you want to expriment funny ways of preserving food, how to grow vegetables or children with a permacultural approach, how to re-use and recycle everything that can be, in the house or the garden... welcome !

    If you love to go hiking, cycling, paragliding, sailplaning, canoeing... la Drôme is made for you !

    And if you want to improve in French, welcome ! English native-speakers : if it's okay with you, Ariane would really love to practice English a little bit... she studied 1 year in UK (10 years ago, wow !) and doesn't have any opportunities to talk with native speakers, and misses it !

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help us in our family day life : childcare, or farm work... depending on what you like to do/ want to learn !

    PLEASE NOTE : Leo is VERY uncomfortable with the language barrier... so if you don't speak French, he can't welcome you at the farm :( However, Ariane is fluent in english, and english-speakers are welcome to help at home :)

    Léo would need help in his farm to : build a half-buried cellar, a solar drying-shed and a toolshed, take care of the trees and plants, harvest.
    He starts work very early in the summer (6 or 6:30 am), to work while the temperature is sustainable. In the late autumn and winter, he doesn't start before 8:30/9 am.
    Volunteers help with him in the morning (5 hours) , 5 days a week, and are free in the afternoon (and 2 days a week). Please let him know in advance which days you want off, so that he can plan the week work ahead.

    Léo's farm is quite new, and he even't doesn't make a salary for himself, so it's definitely impossible for him to pay wages to volunteers. For farmstay, he's looking for volunteers, in exchange for his knowledge, meals, accomodation, and good sharing time and ideas :)

    Ariane would need help at home to take care of the kids, and cook large amounts of fruit/vegetables (depending on the harvest) for preserves.

    The people we especially enjoy working with are curious, compassionate, respectful and cheerful, like us :)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    If you help in the house, you will have your own room : it's small but comfy ! Bathroom will be shared with the rest of the family. The house is quite small (90m2), but is very nice and we have a tiny garden :)

    If you help in the farm, you can either stay at home or in the small caravan that's onsite, knowing that it's a little rough : there is neither electricity nor tap water (drinking water is brought from home and stored in jars, there is a stream and a solar shower for ablutions :) But the spot is incredibly peaceful, and the view over the mountains is amazing : it's worth it !

    Meals are shared at home (or in the field, at lunch, if you work with Leo) ; it's a privileged moment during which we share food, thoughts and experiences :) We cook healthy, organic meals from scratch, mostly Léo's products. We used to be (but no longer are) vegetarians, most of our meals are vegetarian or vegan ; Ariane eats gluten and dairy-free.
    As it's a moment we like to share, we also appreciate that the cooking, setting and clearing the table, and doing the dishes are shared too... especially since dinners are really busy with two young kids ! :)

    If you stay at the caravan, know that it's 13km away from our town, and 3km from the nearest village with shops, cafés, bakeries... and everything you need. We can lend you a bike for the duration of your stay.
    Léo takes breakfast and lunch on the field and shares it with volunteers. For dinner, you will be on your own at the caravan. We could either leave you a ready mealbox, or leave you groceries if you want to cook your own meals. Vegetables are to be found on the spot :)

    We care for mutual respect and communication, both with adults and children. Misunderstangings can be terrible, so please let us know if you're not comfortable with something !
    We are outside smokers, so please don't smoke in the house or in the caravan :)
    We have 3 cats, be careful if you're allergic =)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The region we live in, la Drôme, provides us with everything we love : rivers, low mountains, and forests. We live in a small city (8000 inhabitants) that is crossed by the river Drôme. There are bathing spots within 10min walk :) There are all the conveniences of the town (shops, food markets...), and we're not far from hiking tracks or river swimming spots.

    There is a small train station in our town, and buses can bring you almost everywhere in the area (but not often !)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4/5 hours a day max, 5 days a week. 4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 744716248541