Help with a renovation project in a rural village setting in Burgas, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgarie

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 30 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am in the process of renovating a house in a rural village setting. I will use the property as a holiday home and a wellbeing retreat centre.

    Vedrovo is a small village, in the Burgas region, and it has some 50 residents and another 30 people or so who visit at weekends and holidays. Despite my lack of Bulgarian, and being the first and only foreigner here, I have been welcomed with incredible kindness and support by all the villagers. The people here say that everyone is welcome …"with heart and soul". I can vouch for that!

    I like to feel that I am making a difference, so in partnership with the local mayor, I have started a village community project to help develop parts of the village, including reclamation of the village park, properties, roads and pathways.

    Also, I am writing a series of stories about rural life in our village. I need help with harvesting fruit and veg from the garden

    Priority will be given to volunteers who can undertake artistic projects or general DIY. In addition, I need help with maintaining and landscaping the park area, gardening, tending vegetables and fruit etc.

    In due course, I aim to use our village as a template to support other villages to make improvements needed elsewhere, so that Bulgarian village culture is not lost.

    Anyone seeking to experience something quite special, need look no further.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    As far as possible, I aim to match tasks with volunteer interests - and to work 4-5 hours a day, and I shall be happy to be as flexible as possible as to when the work is carried out.

    I make an effort to join in with local 'goings-on', and volunteers would be most welcome to join me in meeting with some of the locals. This is a great way to see how villagers, whom have known each other for life, interact.

    This is an opportunity to see rural village life at first-hand. There is plenty of opportunity to mix. All of the villagers here are friendly and very helpful.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Although the property is undergoing renovation, the ground floor level of the house is functional and perfectly habitable, though work will start there over the autumn. The second floor has a further two bedrooms, as well as a kitchen, bathroom and covered viewing terrace.

    The garden has a range of flowerbeds, vines, fruit trees and vegetables - as well as some lawns, and these need to be maintained. I am interested in using permaculture methods, though lack the knowledge and know-how - any advice on practical steps would be much appreciated.

    The house is surrounded by nature - in a quiet lane, with a wooded area to one side and panoramic views to the forest and mountains on the other side. I plan to create quite an arty-based house, so anyone with creative flair in house and garden-design or interiors would be most welcome to take part in discussions and execution e.g. painting a mural, creating a flowerbed, help with pond-design.

    We aim to reduce my carbon footprint, so anyone with related knowledge, skills and advice would be especially welcome - I am considering: ways of recycling plastic waste for an art project. The villagers here are extremely resourceful and recycle things effectively.

    Apart from the house renovations, the main activity will be maintaining the park area - as well as making a sheltered area, tables, chairs and benches. The park area will be used as an events venue to generate income to help improve the roads and pathways around the village.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are three bedrooms with sleeping for up to 4. Downstairs there is a large bedroom with two-double beds. Upstairs there are two bedrooms which can accommodate two beds in each.

    I am happy cooking and preparing meals. However, I am equally happy to sample any dishes from others, if they like cooking. I will ensure that any special dietary requirements are met as well as food and drink supplies to cater for volunteer preferences.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    It is a fairly tranquil village and it is about 30 minutes' away from the nearest big towns of Karnobat and Aytos, and Burgas is 1 hour away. I will be happy to collect helpers from and return them to anywhere between these points, though there is a train station in Vedrovo.

    I am fairly easy-going - I have enjoyed sharing houses with lodgers over the years, and I had about ten volunteers it’s before the pandemic..

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 741731397453