Garden and home help with our small family near beautiful Outer Hebrides, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 104 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 10 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very small family based in a beautiful location, among croftland, on the east coast of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides about 10 miles from Stornoway.

    The house is slowly being renovated and we have just under an acre of land which is slowly being developed to increase food production and productive woodland. A poly tunnel has just been installed.

    We would like volunteers (would also consider a small family) to help with a mix of things depending on preferences, but main requirements are painting, joinery work and ground clearance and path installation (quite heavy work). We have several chickens and a re-homed cat also. Help for 2022 is very much outside labor on paths and hardstanding but there also may be painting and sanding inside the house too. Confidence with power tools, basic woodwork or other DIY skills would also be very handy. Medium to long term stays preferred (3 weeks plus).

    You will have lots of opportunity to enjoy everything the Hebrides can offer including the amazing landscape, wildlife (eagles, whales & dolphins) surfing, climbing, biking, learning Gaelic and the beautiful beaches.

    We can provide a large double room in a large house with WiFi etc. Volunteers will have their own large fridge/ freezer and shared kitchen, and almost exclusive use of their own bathroom.

    The house is in a sparsely populated village, but it is VERY isolated in the sense that there are no shops or any facilities nearby, however we are 5 minutes walk to the beach with seals, and paddle boarding, kayaking and fishing opportunities are also within walking distance as well as some amazing surf and climbing further afield. I would recommend that volunteers bring their own transport to fully explore the island as public transport here can be very limited, and it is very difficult to reach some of the most beautiful places on the island without one.

    Our home set up is extremely busy, and we cannot directly supervise volunteers. Helpful, preferably more mature volunteers who can manage their own time and help on their own initiative are welcome.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Ideal for a quiet, remote getaway for outdoor lovers (wildlife, surfing, kayaking, climbing, walking) opportunities to learn Gaelic in town and one member of family educated in Gaelic.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    A mix of the following depending on preferences, priority is on outside path work for 2022:

    General help in house (cleaning cooking, painting, sanding, entertaining a child);
    Gardening, ground clearance, cutting grass, tree cutting;
    Building work (pathways);
    Looking after chickens and cat.

    At the moment there are a number of tasks that would benefit form having someone with good woodworking skills.

    Freedom to create outdoor art projects with wood,shells (or anything else!)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation: large double bedroom with own bathroom (not en-suite).

    Food: happy to discuss what might work best for specific volunteers. We have had volunteers provide most of their own food and we have also provided every meal for volunteers. There is a separate fridge freezer for your own use if needed. We enjoy swapping recipes and rota cooking.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I work from home myself and have extra office space and desk. There is a good internet connection.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Layby adjacent to house available or on driveway for hook up.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    17.5 hours a week



N° de référence hôte : 737911576592