Family farm and nursery near the beach practicing organic permaculture on the Sunshine Coast, Australia

Country

Australie

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 466 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    92.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly family farm and horticultural nursery 8 minutes from the beach on the Sunshine Coast.

    We have a Workaway bunkroom that sleeps up to three people, and can also accommodate additional Workawayers who have their own campervan, motorhome, or similar.

    There is a shared kitchen and bathroom.

    We are a safe place to be during any lockdowns.

    We are Ed, and parents Angela and David, and are looking for help from people already in Australia. We have 42 acres of bamboo groves, gardens, nursery, orchards, and rewilded areas.

    We particularly welcome Workawayers with interests in planting and horticulture, engineering and construction.

    As well as physical tasks on the property, we also welcome photography, videography, and online contributions.

    We are focusing on native re-vegetation, bamboo, vegetables, and fruit. We follow organic, biodynamic and permaculture principles, and are setting up for syntropic growing.

    We appreciate help five days a week, for five hours/day usually Wednesdays to Sundays, although we are flexible for any commitments :)

    Our property is off-grid with our own electricity generation, twice-filtered harvested rainwater, and waste systems, so you'll learn about living sustainably. The nearby towns of Yandina and Coolum Beach are both about 8 minutes away by car. From there, you can explore the whole of the Sunshine Coast. We are about 25 minutes from Noosa Heads. There are beautiful national parks, state forests, mountains and waterfalls nearby.

    The nearest bus station is Coolum Beach. The nearest train station is Nambour. The nearest airport is Sunshine Coast.

    We do a lot of different things on the farm including fruit trees, vegetables, bamboo, holiday accommodation, and always have a number of projects on the go, including carpentry, concreting, erecting a barn, fencing, irrigation, planting, and hope to do more building with bamboo. We have miniature pigs, poultry including chickens, guineafowl and peacocks, and friendly dogs.

    We love people who will have a go at everything and work hard, with a good sense of humour.

    We provide you with free range eggs, fruit, veggies and herbs from the gardens and orchards, a completely stocked vegetarian kitchen, and weekly money to add new provisions.

    We provide shared bunkroom accommodation, kitchen, and bathroom. There are laundry facilities, wifi, an outdoor exercise/play frame, and yoga mats.

    We are near the Mount Ninderry Healing Centre which offers reasonably priced acroyoga, bodywork, courses and therapist programmes, intention therapy, kirtan, and shiatsu, yin and flow yoga, with free community yoga classes once a week.

    We look forward to welcoming you :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our family is originally from Devon in the southwest of England. We have travelled a lot (Ed has Workawayed in South America, Israel, and Europe). We emigrated to Australia and have lived on the Sunshine Coast since 2011. We like time in the country, going to the beach, waterfalls, and national parks. We love meeting new people from all over the world :)

    We wish you happy travels :)

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking to accept Workawayers who have a real interest in our projects which include:
    - carpentry projects and construction including working with Bamboo
    - gardening including bamboo propagation, brush-cutting, composting, harvesting, mowing, mulching, planting, repotting, strimming ("whipper-snipping") and watering.
    - maintenance including painting and repairs

    We are currently building a barn, including laying the concrete slab and digging additional dams.

    There is a sizeable and varied fruit orchard with more than 100 trees, and over 1000 bamboo planted, which we need help maintaining. We also have vegetable beds to increase how much we are eating from the farm. We continue to plant more native trees, and propagate more bamboo.

    You will need sensible working boots and a hat, which we can provide if necessary. We recommend bringing sunscreen, and also boots and wet weather gear if you come in the rainy season.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We speak English, Spanish, French, and are always interested in learning a language and sharing ours.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We provide a self-contained bunkroom with separate kitchen, bathroom, office space, and great food from the local markets and our own grown here.

    If you have a vehicle or camper-van, we have room for you to park and can provide access to off-grid solar power, harvested filtered rainwater, wifi, laundry facilities, and you can share the kitchen and bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our farm is between two mountains and close to the beach. There are many lovely beaches, country towns, national parks, state forests, and waterfalls around, great rock climbing, watersports, horseriding and hiking. Our family has also recently opened the Flow Bouldering gym nearby and we can arrange discounted membership and day passes.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have good wifi for digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We also welcome Workawayers who have their own campervan or motorhome, and have beautiful spaces in the bamboo grove.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Well behaved quiet and friendly animals welcome. Note, we have dogs, poultry and pigs on our property.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)



























N° de référence hôte : 729697784963