Welcome to our homestead in the Southern Appalachians, USA



Enregistré comme favori 48 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    Hi there! We are so happy that you have come across our page. Perhaps you will be interested in joining us on our little mountain in the Appalachian foothills. We are a family of three -Adam, Emily, and Kenzie. Our farm consists of a small dairy goat herd, a mini donkey, chickens, a rabbitry (of both show and meat rabbits), a giant Schnauzer named Greta, and a cat named Zinna. Our home has three bedrooms, a full finished basement and a garage. It sits on 20 acres, with a 360 degree view in the winter and is fully submerged in the hardwood forest in the summer. There are small gardens surrounding the house in which we plant flowers, herbs, and a few veggies. Down the hill, we have a larger garden where we grow our main veggies, some herbs and flowers. Some of the vegetables we grow are tomatoes, okra, cucumbers, squashes, sweet potatoes, etc. Year round we are able to enjoy a soak in the hot tub on our back patio and watch the sun go down, especially in the winter. We love to do pretty much any kind of craft, gardening skill, farming technique, hiking and exploring. We also love wild medicinal/edible mushroom and plant foraging, traveling, trying new foods and learning about other cultures.
    Our daughter, Kenzie, spent time in Iceland as a workawayer in 2019. She really enjoyed her experience so we decided to invite workawayers to our homestead. Also, in the 2019/2020 school year we hosted a foreign exchange student from Ukraine and that was a really fun experience.

    We do not accommodate smokers or pets.
    We eat meat and while we are open to vegans/vegetarians we cannot make another meal to accommodate. You would be free to purchase some nonmeat substitutes on our trips to the store or make a meal for yourself.
    We prefer a female work awayer.
    It would be best if you could provide your own tranportation (like Uber or another taxi-like service, or a rental car) but we can pick you up from the Atlanta Hartsfield airport if our schedule allows.

    Hope to meet you soon,
    Adam, Emily and Kenzie

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We offer a variety of learning opportunities from cultural-based activities like going to festivals, museums, and historical locations as we also enjoy these things and love to share our Southern roots. If you are not familiar with the south, we are known for our southern hospitality, biscuits and farming. Our culture is rich from our famous accents to our sweet summer watermelons and fried okra.

    Aside from that as a family we enjoy hiking, traveling and learning. We also love to cook, share our recipes, and bake breads from freshly milled grain. If you are interested in sewing, we have a machine and fabric. Kenzie can knit and crochet. We have artist paint brushes and paints, tools for jewelry making, plenty of vines for basket or wreath making. After the goat kids are weaned, we will be making chèvre cheese and possibly other types too. If you have never been around farm animals, you will get to meet some super sweet ones here. Once they introduce themselves to you, they will quickly become your friends.

    We occasionally make tinctures and teas with our wild foraged plant material. We might get really lucky and get to go on a plant walk with a local master herbalist who learned from one of the last folk medicine men.

  • Aide


    We are looking for workers that are fun, energetic and self motivated. Our help needs are, designing and building swales for planting fodder garden(s), eventually building onto our barn and milk parlor, harvesting firewood and logs for lumber, organic garden planting, hauling mulch, pulling wild muscadine vines, cooking meals, and house cleaning. Other tasks would include milking goats, rabbitry maintenance, gathering eggs, and weeding. We also want to build a play structure for our goats and I would love to see ideas that others can come up with using the materials we have around our farm. Emily works here on the homestead 7 days a week. On the weekends while Adam is at home we take this advantage to do the heavier and more challenging tasks. Some weekends or afternoons we are able to go play, and we would love for you to join us on a local adventure.

    Update: June 17, 2021
    Since we have first began hosting, we have completed the rabbit tractor builds, the fencing, the restructuring of the veg garden (we are now in full swing of fighting pests, weeding and harvesting).
    Our needs now are weeding, hauling/spreading mulch to various parts of the property, harvesting and garden maintenance. I would still like to see/hear some ideas on the goat play structure. Those pesky muscadine vines are growing and trying to over take our woods so those need clearing. The constant goat, chicken and rabbit husbandry and of course cleaning the house and cooking is always a lingering task too. We are now beginning to make cheese, can green beans, and make jam as well.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Interested in sharing your language? We'd love to learn from you and would like to help you in your English as best we can.

  • Hébergement


    You would be staying in a private room (best view in the house) in our home with a shared bath and two meals are provided. Because we don’t always eat lunch, snacks and lunch are on you.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our area has a rich history of agriculture, gold mining, Civil war and Native American historical sites. We have a national forest within 45 minutes, local parks, rivers for canoeing, kayaking, and fishing, rock climbing locations, Six Flags (a popular amusement park) is 45 minutes away. Atlanta is 1 hour away. My parents have a swimming pool we go to in the summer (7 minutes away). There is no public transportation in our vicinity, but transportation may be able to be provided based on the situation and your needs. Ubers are available for independent travel. In your free time at the house, you can enjoy our access to 40+ acres of land for exercise, rock hunting, hammocking. If you would want to rent a car and go, we are 5 hrs from the beach and 2 hrs from the Blue Ridge Mountains. Gatlinburg, TN, Knoxville, TN, and Ashville, NC is 4 hrs.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is a choice of two different places to park. One is fully exposed on the only completely flat spot on our property. There are no hook ups and it’s closer to the driveway and the road. The other spot is in the forest and closer to the top of our little mountain. Here we have an electric plug in for 20 amp., its not completely flat but good enough and you will have easier access to the bathroom in the house.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Average 3-5 hrs/ day. This depends on the week and what needs to be done.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 713934954333