Learn English, guitar, play the drums and sing with a fun, loving family in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 45 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.04.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! Namaste! We are a fun, musical, Canadian family from Barrie, Ontario looking for someone to join our family as we help our father with his recovery from a brain injury. It's been two years now of him recovering and he's improved a lot. He can have a full conversation with you - he just has problems with his balance so he uses his walker with us.

    In the summer we like to go down to the water and go for a walk around the lake. We like to swim in our pool. We also like to play fun improv/drama games or other board games. Sometimes we have little music circles with different, simple instruments. We have guitars, xylophone, bongos and a full drum kit.

    We could use help around the house for light house work (laundry, dishes, cooking meals, cleaning.) The family consists of the parents (66 years old) and their 29 year old son. We live in a city called Barrie that has a beautiful lake with many activities to try during the summer such as boating (stand up paddle boarding or dragon boating). We live in a neighbourhood with multiple forests that have lovely, tranquil hikes that all lead to small beaches and the lake.

    We'll likely have lots of fires in the backyard where we like to relax and share stories.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The son teaches dragon boating all summer and has done so for 8+ years. Unfortunately due to covid it has been cancelled this summer so I bought a Stand Up Paddle Board instead. He'd also be happy to teach you guitar and show you around our city and its surrounding area. We live close to ski hills during winter months and live 40 minutes away from the longest, freshwater beach in the world called, Wasaga Beach, a must visit. Also lots of waterfalls to visit 1 hour North or Niagara falls in a few hours away.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Sharing meals is helpful - so when you make your own meals, it's nice to make extra so we can share and we would try to do the same. The mom isn't really cooking too much right now, she has a lot of other things to do. The son cooks a lot for himself as he eats mostly a plant based diet.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own bedroom and a shared bathroom/shower. Your welcome to borrow my bicycle.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Things to do in our town:

    Guided Meditation/Dance Studio - there is a cool studio about 20 minutes from our town that offers guided meditations as well as a variety of dance class (hip hop, tribal, ecstatic)

    Downtown: many outdoor patio's and a brewery called Flying Monkey's by the lake.

    Rowing Club: a cheap, summer membership allows you to rent different water vessels (kayaks, canoe's, paddle boards) in the summer and go paddling on our beautiful lake.

    Choir: there is a weekly, fun, inclusive choir at a restaurant in our town where you sing while you eat food and drink. It's extremely fun and helpful for your singing voice - NOT CURRENTLY RUNNING DUE TO COVID

    English Conversation Circle: our town library offers a weekly get together for all the 'newcomers' in Barrie to get together and practice their English as well as make new friends. You'll meet people from all over the world, make friends, and improve your English. - I BELIEVE A VIRTUAL CLASS IS RUNNING DUE TO COVID

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 689248663235