Help us with the renovation of a 15th century fortified farm and grounds in Poitou Charentes, France



Enregistré comme favori 13 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

  • Description


    Hi our names are Pete & Vikki, we have lived in France for over 12yrs now & this is our 2nd renovation project. We live in a huge fortified farm dating back to 15th century, & some areas could date before that. The house is situated on 9 acres of land, some of which is used by a local farmer for cattle grazing & crop growing. The house is a total renovation with 5 rooms completed, we have been gradually replacing & repairing roofs. We share our home with 6 rescue cats & a rescue dog (Tufty) who loves everyone , he is 8yrs old, & we have just taken on Jazz a sporting whippet. We also have several cockerels & their ladies, ducks & Terry our one eyed Turkey & his lady. We have our own business which we have to work around the renovation. We are looking for help especially we are now into 2017 as we are running a B&B & camping a la ferme, we are currently working on a further B&B room. We would like a couple of workaways at the same time that are keen to, learn & assist in creating rooms, putting up ceilings, lime semi exposure to stone walls, painting & decorating, sanding. Also with 9 acres, tree felling, & logging, veg plot & general gardening skills, grass cutting weeding etc. If this is a bit of you please contact us. Especially seeking workaways during end of October & November 2018 to reclaim land that has been used as a dumping ground by previous owners, metals, timber & plastics to separate & recycle, tree felling, & ground clearance in a building ready to renovate.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Cuisine / courses
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Aide


    We would like assistance with reclaiming unkept land, demolishing & clearing building, grass cutting & hedge/ bramble clearance & veg plot ( weather dependant).
    Copse clearance & wood cutting.

    Building works, stud walling, painting, rewiring & plumbing.

    You would need to be physically strong & enthusiastic, have vision for the task in hand. Love & appreciate the countryside.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You will be provided with a 4 berth caravan, fully functioning, toilet & shower, access to the house bathroom if preferred.
    You can prepare your own breakfast & lunch using the caravan facilities if preferred. Evening meal will be cooked for you, or all meals can be shared together.
    Linen, towels & toilet rolls will be provided.
    Emptying of caravan toilet & water top up will be your responsibility.

    Or a double bedroom en suite within the main house, or kingsize room ( subject to availability) linen & towels provided,

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our property is in the middle of the countryside, local shops, markets & bars are 5 minutes drive in a car, so your own transport is necessary if you wish to sight see.

    Can provide bicycles with notice.

    Beaches 1 hr
    La Rochelle historic port 1 hr
    Marais canals 40mins
    Loire valley vin yards & chateaux 40mins
    La Rochelle airport 1 hr
    Puy du Fou 40mins
    Largeasse ice age rock formations 10mins
    There are various local chateaux & fortified buildings, nearest 5 mins away

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day ( to be discussed to work around our working hours)

N° de référence hôte : 679898816659