Learn about milk production on a family farm project near Quito, Ecuador

Country

Équateur

Enregistré comme favori 41 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our farm. My name is Estefanía, and with my aunt, Martha, our project was born. Turning a 200-year historic home into a little hotel with a restaurant, animal house, a greenhouse with flowers, trees, and organic vegetables and cows for milk production.

    We are located in Ecuador, only 50 minutes away from Quito. The farm is a beautiful valley surrounded by mountains, a native forest, and wildlife.
    We are a family of 5 that decided to create a tourism project that could teach our guests, especially children, the importance of nature, countryside work, agricultural management, ecological resources, and animal care.

    We specialize in the production of milk. This means that we breed cows, raise and milk them. For us, our cows are like our big pets, so we are looking for someone that loves them too. We also have horses, bunnies, chickens, ducks, one llama, 2 sheep, 7 dogs, and 4 cats on the farm.

    There is always something new to do and projects to fulfill. The farm has around 153 hectares, so there are many things to repair and build because the house is almost 200 years old and needs maintenance.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a beautiful valley surrounded by mountains, in a historical 200-year house that is peaceful and exclusive but only 50 minutes away from our capital city, so you can visit it in your free days. The town of Nono is 6km from the farmhouse; you can find good restaurants and small shops there.
    We can offer you different types of adventure and hiking; around the farm, we have a little river and a waterfall. If you like riding we have horses. The main garden has three fire pits you can enjoy, relax on the hammocks and play at a ping-pong table or other cool games. In addition, you can drink pure milk, learn about milk production, cheese and yogurt. If you are lucky, you can help our animals to deliver and do prenatal care.
    Every member of the family works on the farm; we have different fields of interest, such as painting, building, singing, crops, animals, and nature. We know a lot about our countryside living, animal husbandry, and agriculture that we will be more than happy to share.
    Is a great place to learn some Spanish, make friends, absorbed a new culture, traditions, and taste delicious food.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for people that will like to experience country living and nature and wish to learn more about animals and farm work.

    Every day is a new adventure, and tasks may vary depending on the season, climate, or urgent repairs. We have a lot of work to do on the farm. This includes taking care of the animals, feeding them, cleaning the stalls, milking the cows, moving them to new fields, planting grass, etc. Building work is always needed, not only in the field but also in the house. Another important task on the farm is helping in the house, preparing meals for the workawayers and family. this responsibility is shared with the family members and staff. Especially on weekends, we need you to help our visitors, show them around the project and make them feel part of this experience.

    New ideas are always welcome, but we are looking for energetic, easy-going, hardworking, and honest workaway guests.
    In the project you will be working with people and animals so is a must that you like this unique business and find interest in discovering the Ecuadorian countryside. We firmly believe in mutual respect, our permanent local staff is like our family, thanks to them our project keeps running, and we will love if you can learn from them and teach them new things too.
    we will be always there for you, please ask everything you wish to know or learn so we can make this experience unique for you as part of our team.

    The farm has important rules that we need our visitors to follow, no matter what. first of all, we will not allow any type of bad treatment towards our permanent staff, guest, and animals. Second, we do not allow drinking or smoking any substance in the farm areas including the fields, house, guest room, or guesthouse.
    Alcohol is allowed in moderation, we will not accept drunk guests.
    We love individuality but need work-awayers to be presentable and clean around the customers. Everyone on-farm is fully vaccinated for covid 19 and we require proof of vaccination and a PCR.

    The farm is a family-friendly environment so please take that in mind. The community is not used to seeing tourists but they are kind and welcoming. the culture is conservative and old-fashioned.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Espagnol: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Currently, we are offering our guests a sheered room with 2 beds and a private bathroom. be prepared to share with other guests.
    we will provide you with one pair of bed sheets, blankets, pillows, and bathroom amenities such as shampoo and soap.
    feel free to use our laundry room
    the room has a little kitchen, dining table and fridge.
    we are renovating our guesthouse that has two rooms.
    We will provide food
    breakfast is the responsibility of each guest and could be prepared in the room.
    lunch and dinner will be prepared in the main house and shared with the family and staff.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    the farm is perfect for natures lovers, you can go birdwatching, hiking, riding bikes, and horses, or just relaxing on the fields.
    In your free time, you can visit Quito the capital city of Ecuador which is famous for its historic places, museums, and churches.
    You can also visit different cities, like Otavalo well known for their lagoons and craft market, which is only 1 hour and 15 minutes away from Quito. Near the farm, you can visit many touristic places, like Mindo which has waterfalls, fishing, and bird watching.
    One public bus leaves the town of Nono towards Quito 3 times a day the fee is around 40$ cents for each trip. We can recommend a safe taxi to travel.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours week



N° de référence hôte : 677785574335