Refuge au milieu de la nature en Colombie-britannique, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 162 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.05.2019

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Want to work-away for 5 days over the sept 23-28th? Free transportation to and from Vancouver!!!

    My wife and I moved out into the British Columbian back country in May 2010. There were only trees on our B.C. parcel of land when we purchased it. Since then, we have cleared a one acre section, built a cabin, a storage barn, a green house, guest cabin, and a chicken coup, planted a garden and had two babies.

    We currently reside in Vancouver and periodically make 1-2 week trips to our "wilderness" retreat throughout the year. We tend the garden, visit neighbours, unwind and do a little work around the place. Unless your schedule is flexible, it will not be possible come - to set predetermined travel dates. But if the timing is right, you can sometimes hitch a ride with us to and from the city, or meet us there.

    As for a description of our place:

    We built the house entirely out of recycled materials, most of which we saved from going into the landfill. While we live in the back country, our homestead has all the basic amenities which you are welcome to use - bathroom, washing machine for laundry, and a full kitchen. Join us for meals, or make your own in the guest cabin. We have a phone.

    We grow all our own vegetables organically, chemical and pesticide free. We love foraging, and fishing for food as well.

    We aim to be completely self-sustainable so we run a solar system to power our house, and use collected rain water for washing and bathing. Heat our house, water and food with firewood.

    In the down times, you can go for a hike on one of the many trails, fish, canoe (the Fraser river borders the property), pick wild berries and/or enjoy the silence (and wilderness noise) of the bush. We are only a 1.5 hour drive to Mount Robson (highest mountain in the Canadian Rockies and 3 hours to Jasper.) We are only a 20 min drive to the ancient forest with 2000+ year old cedars - a must see.

    There's always firewood to split, weeds to pull, neighbours to visit, dirt to dig, organizing, and cedar shakes to split. The list never ends!

    Come enjoy a real life experience.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Activities: canoeing the Fraser, hiking, x-county skiing, meeting the friendly neighbours, eating fresh garden food, ancient forest walks, reading, meditating, fishing, relaxing
    Garden: weeding, watering, pruning, cutting trees back in orchard, compost spreading, hilling potatoes
    Building: Collecting of building material from the forest (only dead trees for rafters poles and shakes), splitting of cedar shakes, digging, forming, build outhouse, build winterized greenhouse
    General Maintenance: Driveway work, collecting/ splitting firewood, cutting grass, picking wild berries, fishing, canoeing
    Animal Care: petting, conducting tricks, feeding, litter removal, brushing dog
    Food storage help: learn and practice safe canning/freezing methods

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    14'x13' cabin - with electricity and heat only. We have an outhouse and also a full bath in the house to use. You can cook in the cabin.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours/day




N° de référence hôte : 649981334e1b