Help a family to move from one apartment to another in Kassel, Germany



Enregistré comme favori 7 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

  • Description


    Come help us move from a charming 1-bedroom apartment to a charming 3-bedroom apartment in the best neighborhood in Kassel! We need help from now through February 20th and are flexible on your length of stay. The project includes packing, unpacking, organizing, painting interior walls and SOME (very limited) heavy lifting (with the help of professional movers—we can count this time differently since it's heavy work!).

    We are a family of 3 living in the charming Vorderer Westen neighborhood of Kassel, Germany. Our son was born in 2017. He's friendly, funny, cute and open to new people, and we're always happy when he's exposed to different cultures and languages. We adults are an American entrepreneur in her late 30s and a German computer programmer in his late 20s who met in India and traveled to Taiwan, Slovenia, Austria, etc. together. At our place, you can expect interesting conversations, delicious & nourishing food, a convenient location (right near the tram and close to the regional train station) and opportunities for cultural exchange.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide à la maison

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We're a well-traveled, BGLTQ-friendly, liberal-leaning family with experience living abroad for long periods of time and we're happy to share our experiences with you. If you want to practice speaking German, that's an option (though we mainly speak English). We live in a historic neighborhood in Germany with many beautiful buildings. It's also easy to access the regional train station from our place, so you can travel to other cities/regions quickly and easily from here. If you love cooking or delicious food, this is an ideal place to visit! We're a very culinary family and love connecting over meals.

  • Aide


    We're moving from one apartment to another in the same neighborhood and are looking for assistance with packing, unpacking and carrying boxes. Guests must be attentive to the task at hand (mindful).

    Optional tasks based on interest/skill may include: organizing (in KonMari style with the hosts), carrying furniture with the help of hired movers, running errands (such as grocery shopping) and helping with cooking and/or childcare.

    Guests are expected to tidy up after themselves (for example, putting your dishes into the dishwasher).

    We strongly prefer non-smokers. Thanks for your understanding!

  • Langues parlées

    German: Courant
    English: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You'll be staying in a room that is completely private at night and may be needed for family use during the day on occasion. During some stages of the move, you may have sole access to one of the two apartments for periods of time (e.g., 1-2 days at a time). You'll have a traditional Japanese futon mattress which is firm but comfortable, plus a pillow, blankets, a towel, etc.

    The SMOKE-FREE apartment is spacious by European standards. You'll have access to a large common room with a couch.

    Please note that there is only one bathroom per apartment (with 3 adults and one child sharing the apartment), so please take only one shower (or brief bath) per day and be mindful of your WC use (e.g., do hair/makeup in your own room or during off-peak hours).

    We're flexitarian and are happy to accommodate vegetarians, flexitarians or anyone who doesn't mind that we usually only eat meat a couple of times per week at most. Gluten-free is totally possible -- just let us know in advance. We'll do the majority of the cooking and food prep unless you especially want to cook or share cooking duties... in which case, we're thrilled to try your cooking and to cook together! :) On some days, you may be expected to prepare your own food for one meal with easy to prepare foods that are on hand (such as cereal or sandwiches). It's possible we'll eat at a restaurant once or twice during your stay. We often enjoy a glass of wine over dinner and you're welcome to partake if you like.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The area/transport (+ a few local sights): Excellent access! We live in a very walkable neighborhood with all the essentials nearby. There's a tram stop almost directly outside the front door, making it easy to get around town and explore. Downtown / city center is about 10 minutes away by tram and it includes museums, the theatre, cinemas, shopping and more. The UNESCO World Heritage Site known as the Hercules Monument (and the gorgeous park that surrounds it) is easily accessible, as is the regional train station (about 5 minutes away by tram from the new apartment), making it easy to reach nearby cities, such as Göttingen and Hannover, or other German highlights, such as Berlin, Frankfurt or the Black Forest, via high-speed train. You can also use our bike if you want.

    Expectations of you/your behavior (to avoid any surprises or conflicts during your stay): Non-smokers only. We ask that you do not drink to the point of inebriation (drunkenness) during your stay and that you do tidy up after yourself (e.g., put your dishes into the dishwasher and don't leave trash lying around). Please use minimal cologne/perfume (including essential oils) and do not burn incense or scented candles. We're happy to share books and most household items with our guests, but please do ask before borrowing things. Food note: There's a citrus fruit allergy in the family, so no citrus fruits (lemons, limes, oranges, etc.) or citrus fruit juices are allowed in the house. Thanks!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (less when heavy lifting is involved)

N° de référence hôte : 637478574787