Come help us build a retreat center in Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 123 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kirsten and Shawn, three years ago, became the stewards of 50 acres of land 20 min from Truro Nova Scotia to begin their dream of helping others heal and connect with nature, while giving back to the land. Kirsten grew up in British Columbia and has spent the past six years calling Nova Scotia her home. She is a registered message therapist and has her practice in Truro. Shawn grew up around the Halifax area and has spent many years living away from home deepening his connection to spirit and learning about different indigenous ways of healing, so he can help others on their healing path.

    We have both travelled quite a bit and have spent time working with various workaway projects. We are looking forward to begin this new chapter in life caring for this land here in Nova Scotia. This year we will be building cabins, these will be done with traditional stick building as well as straw bale and cob, making composting toilets, setting up small solar systems, raising and butchering chickens, setting up a 30/100 ft greenhouse, tending the 1/2 garden which involves weekly harvest, planting, watering, and weeding. And if we get that all done there is always lots of cleaning up around the property to do thinning trees, clearing paths etc.

    We have two large dogs Makia, and Doksha who enjoy running free and sniffing out adventure. We also have two friendly outdoor cats. Here on the farm we have 9 ponds and one big spring fed swimming hole, with a diving board. There are trails that go for miles and miles, forest on all sides of our property with lots of wild life. We have made this chapter of our life free from the abuse of drugs and alcohol and follow the red road. We have a great sweat lodge community close by that we attend regulary, we are also honoured to have a sweat lodge on the farm that our teachers can come and offer ceremony here as well.

    We are full of gratitude to be a able to care for this land and give back in whatever way we can. Life is an amazing gift and we do our best to keep this in our hearts each day. Attitude for Gratitude!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Shawn and Kirsten have both spent a lot of time travelling, and love to be able to support that energy in a positive way. We will share any knowledge we can on the things we are learning such as bio intensive farming, herbology, massage therapy, other Amazonian healing modalities and our spiritual practice. Kirsten has a good working knowledge of Spanish, and Shawn can also understand Spanish fairly well.

    Please Note: We don’t drink or do recreational drugs, if that is a big part of your life, this might not be a good fit for you.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    This fall we will be continuing to put into production our .5 acre farm, put a greenhouse, prepping garden beds and installing irrigation.

    As the months get warmer we will need help with
    - finishing a 16/20ft cabin
    - Putting up a 30/72 ft greenhouse, this should go up pretty quickly with the right help
    - chickens
    - help harvesting seasonal medicinal herbs
    - we will be building a large place to gather and we want to have the roof up, and plan to do a workshop around that. We put a photo of what we are dreaming of below. Reciprocal roof.
    - installing irrigation
    - cleaning around the property
    - Meal prep
    - building garden beds from the ground up
    - stacking wood
    - terracing a south facing slope

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Stay in our home with us in your own room if it’s available, or we also have tents for sleeping in in warmer months.

    We could accommodate up to 2 people at a time.

    This is a safe space for all people to come and help out, we value open and honest communication, and people that come with respect, a good work effort, and an open mind.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your time off you can explore Truro’s Victoria Park, go view or raft the Tidal Bore, go mud sliding, check out the Truro Farmers market, go to Halifax and walk along the waterfront (Kirsten drives to the city every 2 weeks and into Truro almost daily) check out some live music in Truro. Swim in the pond lay, in a hammock or explore the property.

    We would like to have a two week minimum stay but would prefer longer so we can all get into a good flow together.

    We are early risers, and eat meat here, and do our best to get free range and local. Kirsten works in town so you will mostly be working with Shawn. We expect people to be respectful, and able to take direction well. We also know that we have a lot to learn so if you have an area of expertise we would love it if you shared with us that knowledge too.

    Thank you for reading our profile we look forward to connecting with you and are so grateful for your help.

    We’lalin

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate any size camping vehicle

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes, must get along with our 2 dogs, and not kill chickens

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 629862562855