Help at our hobby farm and learn a lot about animals in Vermes, Switzerland

Country

Suisse

Enregistré comme favori 209 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.11.2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    You dig the company of animals and plants? This SPACE is for you.


    Dear Travelers and fellow Wild Spirits,

    Welcome to the juicy little valley! Our family land in the midst of the Jurassic hills is situated on the Röstigraben, so the family is fluently bilingual (French/German). Of course we also speak English.

    I am an artist/photographer/cook/event organizer in my 30's always looking for adventures. My mother is a sound-therapist and painter/sculptor. Father was working in the forests all his life and invested every bit of spare time in rebuilding/maintaining this 300+ years old farmhouse bought by his grandfather. He did so until his last day (02.02.21), and now it's our turn.

    In 2019 we rented the guestroom as b'n'b and made lots of fascinating encounters, but we realized there is a lot of time and effort going into preparing arrivals and cleaning after guest.
    With the start of the covid-19 pandemic we put this project on hold to lower the risk for my father and getting some tasks off my mum's neck. Now there are more rooms available, so b'n'b guests and workawayers could stay here simultaneously.

    There are also 3 cats (Mirca, Saphir and Ninja) and a White Swiss Shepard (DaOath) living with us in the house. Outside we have parks for poultry and a big garden. Pastures are in use by a neighbor for their cattle.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    It's a place of opposites! Discover the multilingual aspect of Switzerland and the rural life in these ancient hills full of history (marine fossils, dinosaur traces, flow-stone caves, monoliths, roman ruins, castles, museums and Switzerland's best preserved biodiversity).

    Learn about the importance of animals -wild and domestic- when most of the land is too steep or too high above sea-level for cultivating only plant based food. Everything is important in an ecosystem! I am part of an organisation to promote small producers who sell directly to the consumer. I will visit many of them regularly, if you're interested - come along!
    We are also a member of a local association which highlights cultural and touristic sites around the canton's tallest mountain.

    Our home is very remote and still open and frequently visited by locals as well as people of all cultures and backgrounds. It's the most quiet place on earth, yet filled with the sounds of nature and animals, and from time to time with loud music or engines!

    We have many interests and different projects going on non-stop. The next one is converting an existing building into a whole new guest house with a greenhouse-garden and a rocket-stove hot-tub!
    You may also use the art-creation space, sound-healing-room, workshop tools for your personal activities.
    Occasionally we host seminars, music production weeks, concerts, art exhibitions etc.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for independent, fast learning, enthusiastic fellows to share our space with. There is always something to do and you will be able to choose your tasks according to your abilities and the seasons/weather.

    ALL YEAR:
    Feeding/grooming animals
    Taking DaOath on long hikes
    Chopping wood for the heating system + warm water + barbecue
    Cleaning the common areas of the house, laundry, dishes etc.
    Maintenance on the machines
    Cooking/Baking
    Fixing things
    Help with digital stuff (website updates, newsletter etc)

    WINTER/SPRING:
    Clearing snow
    Preparing the garden
    Building nests for the geese/ducks/chicken/...
    Looking after the eggs in the incubator (and witness the miracle of life)
    Trimming fruit trees
    Maintenance of the reed purification plant

    SUMMER/FALL
    Gardening
    Cutting grass
    Organizing non-profit events (concerts, workshops, art shows...)
    Harvest (fruits, vegetables, flowers, spices, herbs etc)
    Butcher a few chickens and turkies only for the household

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    The more languages you understand -> -more information is available -more interesting people to communicate with -more ways to express yourself and you're brain learns different perspectives just from how one thinks differently in other languages. I find studies about multilingual brains most fascinating, it goes so much further than one might guess ;-)

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Guestroom with king-sized bed, couples (small families) welcome.
    Two shared bathrooms, one with shower the other with a big bathtub.
    One big kitchen next to a living/dining room.
    One room for therapy and meditation (with Tibetan singing bowls, Tam Tam Gongs and a Hang from PanArt)
    A 50m2 work/creative space with a heating floor.
    Vast outdoor area with grill corner, animal parks, garden, workshops, sculptures...
    There is also a spot for your camper should you be travelling with your home on wheels. Or a garage for your car.

    If you're depending on public transport, we can give you a lift to one of the nearer train stations for your excursions.
    You can also use our e-Bike.

    Of course you can share meals with us. For lunch we mostly eat homemade bread with cheese, dried meat, boiled eggs and so on, in the evening we cook all sorts of warm, healthy and regional meals. We are omnivores, we eat our own chickens and turkey, most of the other meat comes from breeders/hunters we know personally. (Funny little anecdote: there once was a raw-food-guest, he came back a few weeks later when the chickens were ready, to kill and eat his own. No joke. And he's no exception.)
    We think there are balanced ways to go about food (or any other topic) without general exclusions. It's more about HOW than WHAT.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Endless hiking/mtb trails. Paraglider take-offs. Climbing routes. Adventures Parks. Animal/wildlife parks. Caves. Castles, ruins, old trees, lots of forests, springs, creeks, rivers, waterfalls, native horse breed, local events of your choosing and much much more to nourish body and mind.

    The last summers were quite hot and dry, but expect anything really. At night and on rainy days the temperature can drop quickly. We are at about 700m above sea level and our tiny valley has its own micro climate, usually a few degrees less than anywhere else ;-) From the house you can hike directly to the top of the highest mountain around, at 1300m.

    In winter I'm often working in ski-resorts in the alps. If you're a snow enthusiast like me, I'll take you to the powder!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size home-on-wheels welcome! The ground is green where you'll park, but very hard - you wont sink even if it's wet ;-)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 613365755697