A well traveled couple looking for help with our woodland oasis and dog Cody on Bowen Island, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 98 fois
  • Activité récente: 14 avr. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    Hello! If you are interested in exploring ever popular Vancouver and British Columbia and starting or ending with an idyllic stay on accessible Bowen Island (30-minutes ferry ride from Vancouver), we would love to offer a stay in our home in exchange for help in our garden.

    With two grown children who are rarely at home, we are a professional couple working as a psychotherapist (Sally) and physician (Lloyd). We split our time working from home and off the island on the Mainland and are making Workawayers part of our lives this year. We've both traveled extensively, are people oriented, love where we live and would very much enjoy sharing our resources and caring for our land with other like minded people.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    As individuals and as a family we have travelled extensively, and lived for various portions of our life in South Africa, England and Canada. We are accustomed to and interested in different cultures, languages and perspectives. We love how travel broadens one's inner as well as outer horizons and would be open to participate in how this is happening for you when you come to stay with us. Lloyd is learning Spanish and our adult son, Josh, is learning Japanese, our adult daughter, Bronwyn, is learning French and would love to engage in shared language exchange (if that works out) with travellers who speak these languages and want to enhance their English skills. After 5 years on this property we have developed our own gardening knowledge and skills. We use organic growing principles and will be happy to share what we know with those helping us and open to learning from those for whom growing and living a sustainable lifestyle is a passion. We are passionate about the outdoors, enjoy hiking and kayaking and would be happy to direct you to some local secret outdoor gems or share them with you during down time.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We have a 1-2 acre garden that we need help maintaining, especially in the growing season of Spring. The gardening tasks generally do not require special skills or past experience with gardening although this would be beneficial if it is an interest of yours. We have a combination of lawns, flowers and shrubbery, vegetable beds, and a small greenhouse. Predominantly our need is for help with weeding and upkeep but would welcome creative input from anyone with skills to enhance our growing and beautifying the property.

    Aside from the needs of the garden, we have a sweet medium size dog called Cody. He is a Nova Scotia Duck Toller who enjoys two walks a day in the beautiful local trails on island. We love these walks too, but imagine this can be a pleasant part of the Workaway experience, for those who also like dogs and walking/hiking. He is friendly, calm and good off leash.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant
    Japonais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    This is an English speaking household. Lloyd is learning Spanish and happy to engage in conversational practice at any time; If Josh or Bronwyn are home then Japanese and French language exchanges would be welcome

  • Hébergement


    You will be staying in a spacious room with a double bed on the bottom floor of our large 3-storey home and using a shared washroom / shower. Your room has its own private entrance. We are vegetarian (we do eat eggs and diary and occasionally fish if desired). You will have access to our kitchen to prepare your own breakfast and lunches , we mostly take our evening meals together but would respect anyone's need for individual space.
    We have a large raised deck where you can enjoy the surrounding woodland from a deck chair or the hot tub to soak your muscles after time spent in the garden.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Bowen Island is a popular destination for visitors to Vancouver and British Columbia. Notoriously friendly, it has a quaint artisan village with all the necessary amenities such as: grocery stores, pharmacy, pub, library, cafes, yoga studio, local distillery and cidery etc. There are many opportunities to enjoy the natural beauty the island offers including hiking and biking trails, electric bike rental, kayaking, sea swimming and local lakes or even a possible whale siting.

    Our home is a gentle 15-20min walk from the Bowen Island ferry terminal in the main island town area, Snug Cove. The ferry to Horseshoe Bay has good bus links to downtown Vancouver, with an express bus (257) that will transport you with quickly with minimal stops. Horseshoe Bay also has ferry links to Vancouver Island and the Sunshine Coast for those looking to explore further afield.

    Aside from Vancouver itself, Horseshoe Bay provides good access to Vancouver's North Shore or up the coast toward Squamish and Whistler which are all gateways to the surrounding mountains and activities like hiking , biking, skiing or lazing on a multitude of beaches.

    Based on the comments of friends who have visited us, our home life is peaceful, warm, welcoming and engaging. Also, like many, we also moved to this island because we like having space to be, reflect and find seclusion. It would be wonderful to find similarly inclined individuals that enjoy this combination of togetherness and independence.

    For those looking to supplement their time with paid work there is much demand for casual workers on island. We can connect you with prospective employers.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have high speed internet access and there is enough space in your room to set up a desk for a work space

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a large property and can accommodate camper vans or a larger Winnebago at a distance from the main house if you prefer more privacy or a separate living space

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 611455578577

Feedback (4)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our young family and help on our farm in rural Saskatchewan, Canada
Vivez au bord du lac Huron, Ontario, Canada et donnez un coup de main dans la maison et au jardin