Come and help on our hobby farm and spend time with our home-educated kids in Sheffield, Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 140 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.11.2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with currently 4 children living at home, they are aged 18, 16, 13and 11. Our children are home educated so are home all day and would enjoy the opportunity to spend some time with you. We have a small hobby farm (2 hectares) and have sheep, 5 miniature goats and 6 new goat kids! Super cute they are! We also have ducks sitting on a clutch of eggs, chickens, 2 dogs and a cat. We try to grow as much of our own food as possible meaning the garden is important to us, we do mulch it to minimise weeding. We are interested in permaculture so if you have skills in that area we would be especially interested to host you.

    Our farm is located just outside of Sheffield which is known as The Town of Murals and is close to Mount Roland. The town has cafes, a working art space, supermarket, post office, pub, churches etc. And a bus service runs between here and Devonport 3 times per day.

    This area is great for those wishing to walk in the Australian bush, go fishing or do mountain bike riding. We are an hour from World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain.

    We love meeting people from other cultures and sharing lives with them. This is also a great experience for our children who enjoy learning a few words from other languages.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We hope travellers would enjoy the opportunity to live with an Australian family and enjoy country living for a while. When possible we like to take guests to Cradle Mountain or on other outings as we have time. Our children do enjoy learning new words from our guests as well as learning new games and trying different food. The children will also love to teach you their favourite games. We are a 3 minute drive from Sheffield, a lovely little town to walk around and enjoy the murals or coffee shops. A bus travels from Sheffield to Railton, Latrobe and Devonport three times per day adding to your sight seeing opportunities.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for people willing to help in the garden which I try to keep well mulched to suppress weeds, aid in water retention and to add organic matter back to the soil but still there is always some weeding, watering planting and harvesting to be done.

    We enjoy guests who help out in the kitchen with meal prep and clean up. If you love to cook we'd love to have you😊. There maybe be additional house work I'd like a hand with at times.

    Other farm related jobs depending what is happening at the time include firewood stacking and cutting, help with the animals, or you might like to try milking our house cow. We really are looking for people who are willing to have a go at whatever work needs to be done at the time.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own room with internet connection and a shared bathroom. We will enjoy sharing meals with you around our kitchen table, you will be accepted as part of the family.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have enjoyed hosting many backpackers over the years and maintain good contact with some of those, we do love it when a short stay develops into a life long friendship.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours a day,

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 611422495789