Help our family with childminding on the beautiful island Inishturk off the Mayo Coast, Ireland

Country

Irlande

Enregistré comme favori 35 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.05.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We‘re a family of 6 - 4 boys between 10 & 1,5 and me (38) & my husband (39). Originally, we’re from Germany and moved to Ireland in 2019. Here we live on the small, most beautiful island Inishturk, in a (not so small), beautiful house & garden. Since we parents are going to be very busy the next few months (self employed, working online from home, starting a business…), we really could use some help! Mainly this would be playing with the boys, roaming around outside, up the hills and down to the beach, skating or shooting with the bow, building a fire pit in the garden or playing table top games… any inspiration welcome! Our three younger ones are at home (home educators), the oldest goes to the small school nearby.
    From our house we have the best view ever! Over the ocean to the Connemara mountains and over to Inishbofin. We often go for walks over the hills right behind our house, to the cliffs or to Portdoon, an ancient harbour, that was used since ancient times. There are lots of remains from past settlements here on Inishturk, as well as an old watchtower from the times of Napoleon. The island has still the flair and tranquility from rural Ireland from earlier times (so I was told), full of sheep, stone walls, fisher men still building their currachs (boats). And all are very welcoming and extremely friendly! There’s a Community Centre with a small shop and a Pub within walking distance. And although we’re not Irish, you could easily get to know some locals and pick up on Irish traditions here! From Inishturk it‘s possible to take tge ferry to Roonah and then the bus to Westport or Louisburgh. There are a host of possibilities of sightseeing or hillwalking in this area: from Westport House (Grace O‘Malley) to Croagh Patrick, Old Head Beach & Forest, Killary Harbour & Kylemore Abbey, Tourmakeady Woods & waterfall or visit the neighbouring islands Clare Island & Inishbofin! Twice a week, the post boat goes over to Cleggan, so this area (around Clifden) can also be explored!
    We are very conscious about the environment and health, so we cook our meals from fresh and buy organic wherever possible. Since we keep our own flock of chicken (plus 2 ducks), we can always provide you with fresh eggs of the best quality!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In our family you could pick up on some German, maybe also some German /Bavarian traditions, but we’re not very traditional. Then you could also meet some of our friends here on the island - they are just lovely & very welcoming! If you want to know more about keeping sheep, you could help out at our land lords farm, he‘s the friendliest person ever! And often the locals meet in the pub, where you could chat to them and learn about all those stories about Inishturk‘s past!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Mainly, we’re looking for someone to play with the kids! If he or she (or they, if two people come) would also do a project in the garden (e.g. permaculture…build a polytunnel/ wintergarden, build work benches from palettes…) - we‘re very open for suggestions!!! And there ARE a lot of possibilities! But this is not a must! As well as housekeeping or cooking. We’re happy if the kids are kept busy and get some inspiration from new people!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We‘re native German speakers, but are also fluent in English. I (Irena) also know a bit of French.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Own room & bed (single or double), shared bathroom (2).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your time off, you can explore the island (cliffs, watchtower, Portdoon, beaches…) or take tge ferry to the mainland where the wholl look e Connemara &“ Westport area is reach: Croagh Patrick, Old Head Beach, Killary Harbour, Kylemore Abbey, Westport House, Clare Island, Inishbofin, Achill Island… to name a view of the possibilities. There’s a bus from the ferry to Westport from where you can take several buses to all directions. And you can take the post boat twice a week to Cleggan from where you can explore the Clifden area

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have WiFi & unlimited data. Sometimes the connection is not perfect, but most of the time it’s ok & good enough for video calls.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 598434972644