Enjoy simple off grid living and immerse yourself in a nearby Ashram, New Zealand

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 521 fois
  • Activité récente: 08.01.2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hello dear people out there 😊
    I’ve been living on this beautiful piece of land in the far north for the past 4 years, with an aim to live as sustainably as possible. I moved here in order to be closer to the Ashram that is down the road and my way of life is largely influenced by my involvement there, and my hope is that people who are wanting to come and stay with me can use this place as a way of finding out more about the purpose and function of Spiritual Practice in our modern age.
    Things here are pretty simple, allowing for a closer connection to nature and a slower, less structured pace of life. Solar power is limited, water is sourced from a nearby stream and a wood fire heats the water and shared living spaces. There are chickens in the garden, an open shower and toilet with the best view over the valley, two odd little cats that hang about doing their thing and lots of open space and quiet. The gardens are a constant work in progress, with the aim of growing as much food as possible and learning through experimenting and observing the natural cycles and processes of life. An organic macadamia and lemon orchard are also part of the land.
    The seclusion and setting of this place is a great privilege and much of the time is spent discussing, understanding and exploring what it means to be human, and then putting into practice a way of living and sharing that is more based on love and service. In many ways my intention with the place is to bring people together and use our time and energy in a more intentional way.

    Within the valley there are a number of people that are students of the Ashram and there are other projects and things going on that I am involved in within the area that you are encouraged to be part of also. A curious and open approach to this way living, with an intent of fitting in to that during your time here is important. When we are not working a lot of time is spent playing music, deep discussions, singing, reading books, meditation, going down to the waterhole and just being. Mornings are kept in silence to support individual rhythm.
    As the nature here is a bit different to most workaway hosts i ask that you read through my profile thoroughly and consider whether you think it is what you are looking for before writing to me.

    ASHRAM: 5 kms down the road is an Ashram where I have been spending time and studying for 4 or 5 years. The place offers silent meditation retreats, a temple for self-guided meditation/silence and student visit times with a Spiritual Master where people are able to stay at the Hermitage for some time if they wish. The intention of the place is to be a kind of stepping stone for others who are wanting to be around the Hermitage. Whether before or after visiting the hermitage this is a supportive space to absorb and put in to practice a new/different way of looking at things and relating to the world. It’s important that those that come here are genuinely interested in being a part of this in some way, so it would be good if you could indicate this when you write to me and i can point you in the right direction to get more information as well.

    KARMA YOGA (work): Any action or activity can be considered karma yoga. It is the attitude of selflessness with which things are done not the thing itself that makes something karma yoga, and is about doing things to serve and support without attachment to outcome or for personal gain. The projects and ‘work’ that’s done here is to allow the place to sustain itself and to support those that are here to understand ourselves more deeply. I am also involved in a few projects on other pieces of land close by where we will go and do work. Each day there are hours set aside for karma-yoga, and each person decides as and when they participate. With that in mind, a total of 15 hours per week is required of everyone.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am happy to share my experiences and understanding through my study at the Ashram, and people who stay here will have to chance to be part of a more contemplative lifestyle.
    I am very much learning things as I go along so this is place to come and learn and be creative about finding sustainable solutions to meeting basic living needs, and learning how to live and work with others in a healthy and inspiring way.
    I have a lot of general skills and experience of living off the land and happy to share what I have learnt so far.
    I am passionate about finding ways that local communities can create more sustainable and environmentally responsible ways of living and for other young people to feel more inspired about living outside of cities and being more self resilient.

  • Aide


    There is often a range of different projects going on here at a time so from gardening, building projects and looking after the land.

    Projects that have already been underway include building of an earth cellar, many garden beds, green house, terraces and fun spaces such as an outside gym and tree house.

    I am involved in managing and setting up a community gardens project on some land down the road so there are ongoing things to be done down there too.

    Most importantly, daily chores are everyone’s responsibility. Living off-grid in a group requires daily tasks to help things run smoother. This includes cutting firewood, cooking, doing the dishes, tidying the house, feeding the cats. The more you treat it like your home, there easier these things fall into place :)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    There is a possibility to stay in a room in the house (one dorm with 3 beds, and 1 double room) or pitch up a tent in the garden. If you fancy it you’re also welcome to sleep in an old van away from the house - great in summer!

    Food costs are split between those that are here. There is a food jar which is filled on a weekly basis at $80/week. This is why the working hours are 15 hours per week instead of the usual 25. I do a trip into Kaitaia most saturdays to the market and get what we need for the week.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The house is vegetarian and drug free.

    For those that like to get out and about exploring nature, there are lots of walking tracks to wander and two swimming holes within walking distance.

    Getting here is easier with your own transport. Otherwise, the easiest thing is to catch a bus to Taipa (15-mins from here) and I can come and collect you.

    This place will provide you an opportunity to slow down and immerse yourself in the lifestyle here and use this space as a way of considering your lives more deeply, spending some time around an Ashram and living a more simple way of life for a time.

    If this sounds like what you are looking for you are welcome to write to me. Because the nature of this place is a bit different to most Workaway places I ask that when you write to me you express what it is about this place in particular that attracts you and why you want to come, relative to what i have outlined as the purpose here.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    negotiable (max 15 hours - no meals)

N° de référence hôte : 589283159175

Feedback (5)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (3.7)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our Okiwi Family Project - Auckland, New Zealand
Looking for some help with our children in Auckland, New Zealand