Apprenons ensemble et aidez-moi à rénover un manoir vieux de 400 ans en Basse-Normandie, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 25 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.01.2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Very creative, lover of old buildings, keen gardener, great cook, keeper of many furry friends, dodgdy 80's musical taste! and huge, massive film fan! Moved to France for the 'Good Life', to create a few good vintages and discover all that you can do with tonnes of apples and pears. Especially looking forward to cold winter nights sat in front of the very large sitting room fire cracking walnuts off my own trees whilst sipping my own home produced cider.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I have worked in construction for more than 20 years and have worked on some old buildings but nothing like this before. I have however been a keen supporter of The Landmark Trust in the past and have visited and stayed in many of their old properties.

    Hopefully I can teach you things I know and you can teach me new things too.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I have recently moved into a old manor house in Lower Normandy which according to the estate agents is about 400 years old but may be much older (there is a date on the chimney for 1216).

    One part of the house was converted in the 1950's to provide two bedrooms and a kitchen, plus a toilet. The rest is yet to convert and/or renovate but is oozing in character and history.

    It is built primarily from stone, oak and colombage.

    I have moved here for 'the good life'. If you weren't alive in the eighties, google it!

    I moved in with Sasha (springer spaniel, 9 years old), Piglet, Daisy and Amber (all moggies ranging from 4 to 19).

    Last year we harvested grapes to make our first batch of wine and rescued walnuts from our resident red squirrels who seemed determined to have them all!

    I also have 12 fruit trees, mostly apples and pears but also some cherries. I didn't do anything with the crop in 2016 (too many other things to do) and so want to be much better prepared in 2017.

    ** Ideally need people staying between September and October when the fruit starts to fall **

    I then have sweet chestnuts to harvest in late October and chickens to introduce.

    I'm also looking to add a donkey, maybe a goat or even both into the orchard to act as an organic lawn mower.

    I intend to renovate the property retaining as much of the history and character as possible. Where possible I want to introduce a few eco efficiencies (such as using the garden well as a geothermal source for heating).

    I'm planning on undertaking renovation projects room by room.

    I also want to overhaul the garden and make it look less like a jungle and more like a garden making the most of it facing due south.

    ** In 2017 I really want to tackle the area of garden immediately behind the house that has various fruit trees, a walnut tree, a chestnut tree and numerous animal enclosures from previous owners that I want to clear in order to mow the grass on a regular basis. I also want to create and plant some herbaceous flower beds and tidy up/sort out an area at the end of the house where rubbish has been dumped. If its raining there are plenty of indoor chores to be done in the older part of the house.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In 2017 accommodation might be a little 'basic'.

    I do have a toilet that flushes but where it goes is anyones guess!

    Hot water is currently via a kettle but I'm working on something a little better/modern.

    Eggs (will be) courtesy of the chickens.

    I love to cook and still subscribe to Waitrose food magazine.

    In the evenings i enjoy sitting outside watching the sun go down or watching a film.

    Monday means a beach walk.

    There is a market in Saint Hilaire on a Wednesday.

    Saint Michaels Mount is nearby.

    There are cinemas at Saint Hilaire and Vire.

    We drive to Ikea at Caen.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Nearby we have:-

    Mont Saint Michel, which is about 40 minutes away.

    Parc zoologique de Jurques is about 30 minutes away.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My workshop needs extending and improving during 2017.
Various animal enclosures to remove and fruit trees to prune in 2017.
A job for 2017 is to sort through this pile of rubbish left behind by previous owners.
A previous workawayer helping to build a chicken house.
Your host for a week or two.
One of my furry friends having an early night.
The rear of the house as seen from the top of the garden. The aim in 2017 is to tame the 'lawn' that has been left to grow for far too long.
The house is surrounded by farmland and a rather well known calvados maker.

N° de référence hôte : 588424961868