mis à jour  

Experience Australian wildlife up close while helping with gardening, animals and bush regeneration

  • Enregistré comme favori 202 fois
  • Activité récente: 20 févr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Our 20 acre property is at the beginning of the Hunter Valley just 15 minutes from the Sydney-Newcastle railway. We will pick up and drop off at the station.

    We moved here from Sydney 9 years ago for a "tree change" and absolutely love it. We have pasture and a beautiful rainforest gully which we are regenerating (it was full of weeds), two horses, a miniature pony, chickens and a dog. We are husband Phil and wife José. Our adult son James visits as we all work in the family business. Daughter Helen lives in Newcastle and visits regularly to ride. Horse riding is our passion and we regularly go to competitions.

    We have inherited permaculture features, plants and trees and dream of doing more (swales, food forest etc) . We grow vegetables and have fruit and nut trees. The vegetable gardens always need weeding. We are learning about regenerative farming to improve the pasture and capture water. We have dabbled in making biochar. The property backs onto a native conservation area/forest with many delightful, well marked bushwalks. There is an abundance of birds and wildlife; kangaroos and wallabies, frogs and insects. There are wombats too but we have only ever seen them via a wildlife camera. We do see bandicoots. Be warned there are also leeches after rain, spiders and snakes.

    We run an equestrian mapping software business from home. For overseas visitors, we would love to practise our languages and perhaps give you a break from speaking English all the time which can be tiring. We have a spare, very comfortable double room in an annexe to our country house. There is room to park a van, caravan or car. Phil loves cooking all different styles including vegetarian, family meals and is keen to learn new recipes from all over the world. Past workawayers all rave about Phil’s cooking.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Experience the Australian bush and its beautiful animals, plants, birds and insects first hand. Learn about bush regeneration, gardening and regenerative farming. Enjoy home cooking (meat eaters and vegetarians welcome). Visit the wine region of the Hunter Valley, beach and cultural centre of Newcastle. Learn how to look after horses and chickens (and collect the eggs!). One of our horses is suitable for beginners or more experienced riders to occasionally ride on trails. (They are in training for competitions and we do not have riding facilities on the property). We would love to have the chance to practise our languages and give you a break from speaking English all the time.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Mainly gardening and weeding of paddocks and bush area. Preparing garden beds for planting. Sweeping up the endless gum leaves and bark. No prior experience necessary but be aware it is *physical, hard work* . Fixing things (mechanical, building, carpentry). Digging. Picking fruit and nuts. The dog is always keen for a walk! During rain or very hot days there is work inside, cleaning the house. We appreciate you pitching in with washing and tidying up.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Hollandais: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Korean: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I studied German and French at university but am very rusty. We lived in the Netherlands for 5 years.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A very comfortable double room in an annexe to a simple country house sharing a bathroom with one other. Meals provided - meat or vegetarian. We are keen and adventurous cooks. You are very welcome to cook too.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your time off you can visit the vineyards, Newcastle which is New South Wales' second city and has beautiful Beaches. There are lots of bush walks right next to the property. We are 15 minutes from the Sydney to Newcastle railway and happy to drop off/pick up.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We run a software business from home. The internet has been recently improved with an external antenna but is not "city speed". You can zoom etc. We have good Telstra mobile reception but OTHER TELCOS HAVE NO COVERAGE

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    No problem parking a vehicle large or small.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 561656342725

Feedback (8)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Help us start a tropical fruit forest garden in a piece of paradise in the tropics in Bingil Bay QLD, Australia
Come and help establish beautiful themed garden projects in the seaside town of Port Lincoln, South Australia